Boston Manor Announce Fourth Album With New Single ‘Passenger’

Boy oh boy! It’s a great day everyone because Boston Manor have announced their new album! Their fourth studio album, Datura, will be released 14 October via SharpTone Records. Vocalist Henry Cox reveals:

I want people to connect with the themes of this album. Not so much in terms of it being so specific to me – although I hope they appreciate the vulnerability in it – but with the view that they can project their own life story onto it. At its core, this is an album about somebody struggling to get control of their life and pull themselves up. I think a lot of people can relate to that, especially in the times that we’re living in at the moment. So as much as I was writing about my problems, I hope people can find solace in it.”

The album surprisingly only has seven songs, and guitarist Mike Cunniff says that their 2021 EP, DESPERATE TIMES DESPERATE PLEASURES, was the perfect jumping off point where they wanted fewer songs so they could be a lot more intentional.

The burgeoning British rock act have also released a new single ‘Passenger’ which introduces the record’s nighttime aesthetic. It’s dark and moody in only the way that Boston Manor can deliver. But, of course, don’t forget about the intense and unrestrained burst of an anthemic chorus for which the band have become known. It’s a song that’s both hopeful and energetic but also on the verge of emotional collapse. I think we can relate.

Cunniff says of the song’s process:

It’s really one of our favourite songs on the record. We’ve been jamming it in rehearsals a little bit and it just works so well live. It was a very stripped back approach to writing as well. We didn’t want to put too much stuff in it, which kind of leaves us feeling a little bit vulnerable and naked onstage, when there’s not too many things going on. It was the last song we wrote and recorded for the record, the final piece of the puzzle.

Get ready for the new era of Boston Manor.

Words by Ebony Story @ebonyrose.s

Pre-order/pre-save Datura here

Boston Manor – DATURA tracklisting:

01. Datura (dusk)
02. Floodlights On The Square
03. Foxglove
04. Passenger
05. Crocus
06. Shelter From The Rain
07. Inertia

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ebony Story (204 Articles)
Wall of Sound Music Journo & Podcast Host // Loving the heavy heavy