VIDEO PREMIERE: Outright Take Aim At Accountability in ‘The Hammer’ Music Video

Last month Melbourne hardcore heroes Outright bounced back into the scene with their ferocious single ‘The Hammer‘ and the album announcement we’d been waiting years for – Keep You Warm which is set for release on Friday, July 15th via Reason and Rage Records

Today, we are proud to premiere the official music video for their lead single and have asked frontwoman Jelena Goluza to take us behind its themes to paint a better picture and experience for the viewer, to which she explained:

“In ‘The Hammer’ video we wanted to make a point of showing how the concept of a “witch hunt” has been co-opted by abusers who see accountability as an attack – when the real attack is centuries of murder, exclusion and control they commit against people who challenge the status quo, show strength and independence or literally just dare to exist. What starts with a faceless man in a suit chasing a woman to her death at the pyre he has built, ends in her turning around to tie him to it instead. A consequence of the pain his own behaviour has caused. The microphone that represents speaking our truth is lit to become a torch for justice and the flame to burn it all down.”

Continuing with the discussion around themes, we asked about their forthcoming LP and the themes/experiences that inspired the music and lyrical content – which has been an important staple in Outright‘s music, motivation and purpose as a band since we first uncovered them at BIGSOUND 2019.

Jelena jumped right in revealing:

“The ‘Keep You Warm LP’ maintains the Outright tradition of using reflection, defiance and empowerment to try to navigate and improve the world around us. Discussing decolonisation, mental health, environmental destruction, exploitation and injustice, this album is catharsis for the weight of the world and an appeal for change through honesty. This is as important to us for survival as much as dialogue. The theme of fire and ash recurs throughout the album – from burn out, gaslighting, destroyed landscapes and witch hunts to the spark of our political movements and the light we shine when we take up the space we deserve.”

Get ready for one of the hardcore scene’s most thought-provoking releases to arrive in July by checking out the video below!

Stream ‘The Hammer‘ and Pre-order Keep You Warm here.

Outright – Keep You Warm tracklisting

1. Truth Teller
2. The Hammer
3. Linchpin
4. Tied Through Time
5. Fortify
6. Breathless
7. The Call
8. Burn
9. Tyrants & Vultures
10. Silent Spring

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3539 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!