In Flames’ Anders Fridén Announces Solo Album + Two Songs

Anders Friden - If Anything Suspicious

It’s been a busy time in the niché world of Swedish melodic death metal. Gothenburg triumphs In Flames are on a quest to reissue all of their albums at the moment, with the exciting notion of remastering across the board, particularly for records that are nearing thirty years in age.

Aside from these In Flames developments, ex-members of the band have joined The Halo Effect, with new track ‘Shadowminds’. The band consists of five former In Flames members, namely Jesper Strömblad (CYHRA guitarist), Daniel Svensson (drums), Peter Iwers (bass), Niclas Engelin (guitar) and Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity vocals).

Well, now that the past members of In Flames have a new project, and the current members are remastering their work, front-man Anders Fridén is doing something of his own, and it sounds really different to what you’d expect. The project is titled If Anything, Suspicious and he’s released two instrumental ambient tracks titled ‘Nodes Of Yesod‘ and ‘Farewell‘. As far from In Flames as they are, they actually do seem to have sombre elements from In Flames in between the chaos – check it out for yourselves.

The two tracks will be released as part of Fridén‘s debut album with If Anything, Suspicious titled Lullabies for the Damned, and is set for release on December 3 via OFFAIR Records.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90

Pre-order If Anything, Suspicious’ upcoming record Lullabies for the Damned
+ stream the two new track ‘Nodes Of Yesod’ and ‘Farewell’ here

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (771 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.