Hawthorne Heights Drop Title Track Of New Album ‘The Rain Just Follows Me’

2000s emo kings Hawthorne Heights filled our black, hollow hearts last month returning with ‘Constant Dread’ featuring a grimey scream from Counterparts’ Brendan Murphy. The band are looking to reign as 2000s leading emo act this year as they now unveil the title track of their forthcoming album, The Rain Just Follows Me.

Where ‘Constant Dread’ ignited your passion for post-hardcore melodies and harsh vocals, ‘The Rain Just Follows Me’ will sway closer to alternative/punk tempos, soaring hooks and catchy emotive lyrics hitting you right in the feels, wishing you were anything else but the office. Singer JT Woodruff explains why it became the album’s leading track:

“I really wanted to name this album after those lyrics. It perfectly described what I’ve been going through. During the day, everything seems totally fine, but when I lay down and turn out the lights, my world comes crashing down. If this happens on tour or at home, I usually just think of the coast. I think of the way I feel, watching pelicans on the pier. And usually everything will stabilize, but for some reason nothing was working. When you’re gone for months out of the year, it starts to feel normal. Your entire family and circle of friends have to rearrange their lives to stay connected to yours. And as much as this seems like a woe is me, touring band sob story, it really isn’t about that at all. It’s about how our society has taught us to work ourselves to exhaustion, and at the end of day, our prize is an early grave.”

The entirety of this song just gave me massive Yellowcard energy and now I’m even more intrigued in hearing the track on the upcoming record featuring Yellowcard vocalist William Ryan Key. Also, the more I listen to ‘The Rain Just Follows Me’ the more I am calling it this week’s banger of the week and holy shit — I’m just even more pumped for the new album!

Hawthorne Heights will release their new album, The Rain Just Follows Me on September 10 through Pure Noise Records. Pre-order here

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Hawthorne Heights – The Rain Just Follows Me tracklisting:

1. Constant Dread (Featuring Brendan Murphy)
2. The Rain Just Follows Me
3. Holy Coast
4. Tired And Alone
5. Thunder In Our Hearts
6. Spray Paint It Black (Featuring Anthony Raneri)
7. Dull Headlights
8. Palm Canyon Drive
9. Seafoam (Featuring William Ryan Key)
10. Words Can’t Hurt
11. Bambarra Beach (The End)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.