Angels & Airwaves Announce 6th LP Lifeforms; Unveil New Song ‘Restless Souls’

angels and airwaves band tom delonge

The wait is finally over, Tom DeLonge and his Angels & Airwaves brothers have announced FROM SPACE they’ll be releasing their sixth studio album Lifeforms on September 24th and oh my effing dog I am finding it hard to contain my excitement. The news comes after months of teasing and this new era will kick off the band’s first release under their new label at Rise Records.

Not only does this indicate the return of AvA with their first full-length album since 2014’s The Dream Walker, but it also marks the return of OG guitarist David Kennedy who makes his way back to the band for the first time since their 2011 release Love: Part Two.

As for ‘Restless Souls‘, it doesn’t have the large scale stadium rock sound that last single ‘Euphoria‘ had, but it’s catchy, upbeat and is reminscent of ‘Dry You Eyes‘ from the Love album. Long term fans will be able to pinpoint specific throwbacks to previous albums like I-Empire too, but for the most part, this is AvA doing what they do best – great rock songs with significant meaning – this one being about:

“…a honest letter from God to humanity – because life seems to always be looking for ways to inspire, clarify and teach us when things become more difficult” according to Tom. He also reiterated that the new album (for him) is “a journey through different relationships, different points of view, and how we each have our own life path.”

Along with new music, there is a world tour planned (US and Europe dates so far) and a forthcoming Angels & Airwaves documentary on the way which details the band’s return to the music industry and shows fans how Tom managed to convince David to come back to the group alongside drummer Ilan Rubin and newcomer, bassist Matt Rubano. Snippets of the Peter McKinnon-directed doco have already been teased on social media including a sneak peek of the album’s opening track ‘Timebomb‘.

With all that in mind, you better be ready for a huge contender for album of the year, comeback of the decade and Tom DeLonge‘s sultury vocal performance invading your ear holes again….

Pre-Order Lifeforms here

angels and airwaves lifeforms album cover

Angels & Airwaves – Lifeforms tracklisting

1. Timebomb
2. Euphoria
3. Spellbound
4. No More Guns
5. Losing My Mind
6. Automatic
7. Restless Souls
8. Rebel Girl
9. A Fire in a Nameless Town
10. Kiss & Tell

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3765 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Meet Tom DeLonge’s New Alter-Ego ‘Disco’ in Angels & Airwaves’ Music Video for ‘Losing My Mind’ – Wall Of Sound
  2. Ilan Rubin & Matt Rubano – Angels & Airwaves ‘Holla from Lollapalooza’ – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.