Mark Hoppus Explains Reasoning Behind blink-182’s New Album Title ‘NINE’

When blink-182 announced their latest album would be called NINE last week, as expected, fans were caught in the midst of it wondering why they were calling it that, despite it not being their ninth release!? People tend to forget their EPs Flyswatter and Dogs Eating Dogs, not to mention the infamously popular Mark, Tom & Travis Show were reputable releases in blinks back catalogue, but bassist Mark Hoppus has addressed this with a statement on Facebook where he says:

“NINE. this is our ninth album, as decided by me and travis. some count buddha, some not. some count the mark tom and travis show. some count greatest hits. some count dogs eating dogs. i’m counting buddha, cheshire cat, dude ranch, enema of the state, toypaj, untitled, neighborhoods, california, and now NINE. nine is also the number of universal love. and the number of uranus. remember to like and smash that subscribe button, or whatever it is the kids say now.”

So there you have it, that’s why it’s called NINE. Take it or leave it. There’s also 15 songs on the new album ad we’ve already heard 4 of them. Some are catchy, some take a while to grow on you and some would be much better if they were longer than 50 seconds in length, but at the end of the day, it’s some new tunes from blink-182 and that should be exciting enough right? Right?

Pre-Order NINE for your album collection here

blink 182 - nine

blink-182 – NINE tracklisting

1. The First Time
2. Happy Days
3. Heaven
4. Darkside
5. Blame It On My Youth
6. Generational Divide
7. Run Away
8. Black Rain
9. I Really Wish I Hated You
10. Pin the Grenade
11. No Heart To Speak Of
12. Ransom
13. On Some Emo Shit
14. Hungover You
15. Remember To Forget Me

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3449 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower... Definitely NOT a Hipster!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. blink-182 – NINE (Album Review) – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.