Dying Fetus – Make Them Beg For Death (Album Review)

Dying Fetus – Make Them Beg For Death
Released: September 8, 2023

Line Up:

John Gallagher // Vocals/Guitars
Sean Beasley // Vocals/Bass
Trey Willams // Drums



Absolute titans of the extreme metal world – and owners of one the most offensive band names in music history – Dying Fetus’ mashup of death metal and New York-styled hardcore punk have seen them become one of the most important and formative acts across the slam, brutal death and deathcore genres. Truly cementing their status as MVPs with 2012’s Reign Supreme, the trio have looked absolutely unstoppable in the last decade – hell, they even cracked the mainstream with one of their songs featuring on an episode of South Park. With 2023 already being a stand out year for the slam/brutal death metal, Dying Fetus have crammed yet another skull-splitting full length into this year’s packed release schedule with their ninth album, Make Them Beg For Death.

Though six years removed from the last Dying Fetus LP – the equally brilliantly titled Wrong One To Fuck With – our album opener ‘Enlighten Through Agony’ is instant proof that it is business as usual from the Baltimore bruisers. Packed to the gills with twisting riffs, blistering drums and a meaty beatdown, it serves as a high-bpm, violent mood-setter for the next 41 minutes to come. Following number, and teaser single, ‘Compulsion For Cruelty’, pulls the listener into deep, tech-death waters, while Dying Fetus’ punk side gets unleashed on the 100 second assault that is ‘Throw Them In The Van’.

Dual vocalists Sean Beasley and founding member John Gallagher deliver their tales of revenge, corruption and anger with traditional death metal growls, throatier screams and ultra-guttural lows. It’s nothing we’ve not heard from the Dying Fetus boys before, serving as a consistent element of their sound, as is the classic dry-sounding, ultra-tight drums from Trey Williams. As one of the few trios in extreme metal, the quality of Dying Fetus’ musicianship has never been doubted, from the tight sweeps on the pure death metal attack of ‘Unbridled Fury’, to the excellent outro of album closer ‘Subterfuge’.

There’s more than enough pit-exploding moments on the album too; ‘Feast of Ashes’, ‘Undulating Carnage’ and ‘Hero’s Grave’ all have the potential to be new live favourites with their multiple grooves, beatdowns and two-step sections – even a rare solo crops up.

Despite their longest gap in albums to date, Dying Fetus have lost zero steam, serving up a punishing collection with Make Them Beg For Death. Home to some of the grooviest, whiplash-inducing death metal you’ll hear all year, while admittedly not quite Dying Fetus’ finest hour, it’s clear the band have doubled down on creating the best songs possible within the Dying Fetus-mold – making Make Them Beg For Death a great entry point for any prospective fan; whilst also a killer familiar journey for supporters of old.

Three decades in the game, the OGs have proved once again they’ve got more than enough adrenaline coursing in their veins to effortlessly hang with the countless acts they’ve influenced.

Dying Fetus – Make Them Beg For Death tracklisting

  1. Enlighten Through Agony
  2. Compulsion For Cruelty
  3. Feast of Ashes
  4. Throw Them In The Van
  5. Unbridled Fury
  6. When The Trend Ends
  7. Undulating Carnage
  8. Raised In Victory / Razed In Defeat
  9. Hero’s Grave
  10. Subterfuge

Rating: 8.5/10
Make Them Beg For Death is out September 8 on Relapse Records. Order here
Review By – Andrew Kapper. Twitter: @andrew_kapper