Trophy Eyes Announce Fourth Album and Drop New Track ‘What Hurts The Most’!

Trophy Eyes 2023

The day we’ve been waiting for has arrived – Trophy Eyes have announced their new album, Suicide and Sunshine! It’s been a good five years since their last album was released, and you had better believe we cannot wait for it to drop on June 23rd through Hopeless Records.

The album’s title comes from a lyric in the song ‘Sean’, Floreani writing that it was sunny when he heard of his mate’s passing, and that the Uber that took him to a gathering of Sean’s friends was playing poppy Top 40 hits. It’s a concept that’s long inspired the singer’s work, and Floreani explains:

“It’s the tragedy and the beauty of life. When we did Chemical Miracle, our second full length, the logo for the album was a palm tree and a noose. That’s literally suicide and sunshine. It’s always been there on my mind. And I think I finally just phonetically set it out. That encompasses everything I’ve been trying to do my entire career.”

The singer’s willingness to dive so deeply into the most personal parts of his life is matched by the band’s desire to explore the very boundaries of the hardcore and punk genres, incorporating dark modern pop, electronic flourishes courtesy of co-producer Fletcher Matthews, and atmospheric, swirling synths.

“It’s where we are, it’s who we are just doing the stuff we like. It was just the guys getting together and focusing on our relationships, being brothers and being in a band again. And that’s what this record was for Trophy Eyes – a very happy revisiting of why the fuck we’re doing this in the first place.”

Their new single ‘What Hurts The Most’ is about pain, loss, and learning to say goodbye to relationships you’ve outgrown. The lyrics (as always) were Inspired by Floreani’s personal experiences, and he elaborates on how the song formed:

“I moved to Newcastle, Australia in my early 20’s. My best friend and I had made a plan together in pursuit of happiness, and for some reason, to us, it all started there. He’d always struggled between the pressure of conventional life and risking all for the unattainable, and I’d always flourished in chaos. Like it does, time marched on. I joined Trophy Eyes and he dedicated his time to house deposits and long term relationships.

Trophy Eyes quickly consumed my life, taking my degree, relationships, friendships, jobs and homes – even the honour of best man. I found less and less time for motivational speeches, and even when I could, it was always met by a void of negativity. I gave up on him. Our friendship soured at the idea of what I’d sacrificed for my dream and how I’d neglected his. During a tour of Europe, he crossed a line back home, and I never saw him again.”

While the lyrics deal with tough emotions, as always the music itself sounds almost hopefully upbeat. It’s almost a heatbreak song; people will be crying to this song when they break up, when they have an argument with a loved one, when they’re feeling misunderstood. You just know the pit will be intense when this track is played.

It’s a great insight to what their new album features: contrast. It’s going to be light and dark, beauty and tragedy. And I, for one, cannot wait.

Words by Ebony Story @ebonyrose.s

Pre-save Suicide and Sunshine (win a signed test pressing) here

Pre-order Suicide and Sunshine (Australian exclusive coloured LP, win a signed Fender guitar) here

Trophy Eyes – Suicide and Sunshine Tracklisting

1. Sydney
2. Life In Slow Motion
3. People Like You
4. My Inheritance
5. Blue Eyed Boy
6. Runaway, Come Home
7. Burden
8. What Hurts The Most
9. OMW
10. Kill
11. Sweet Soft Sound
12. Stay Here
13. Epilogue

About Ebony Story (229 Articles)
Wall of Sound Music Journo & Podcast Host // Loving the heavy heavy