Pierce The Veil Double Down on the 90’s with ‘Emergency Contact’ & Announce The Jaws of Life Record

Pierce The Veil 2022

The return of Pierce The Veil has been triumphant to say the least. Their big return after many years with ‘Pass The Nirvana‘ was something that stunned fans new and old. The San Diego band’s approach to grunge worked impeccably well and today we’ve got a second song to suss out.

Emergency Contact‘ is Pierce The Veil‘s first track in six years and continues down the 90’s nostalgia route, but blending in more signature colours and flavours. Vocalist/rhythm guitarist Vic Fuentes takes you down the path of bubble gum and wallet-chains as he takes you down that rebellious 90’s path that their new era seems to be following, whilst merging their historical sounds a bit more than ‘Pass The Nirvana‘.

On the new single, Fuentes comments:

“There’s so much desperation underlying the lyrics of this song. It talks about a relationship where one person is ready to take things to the next level while the other is still unsure. One person is begging the other to either move forward or to let them out because being stuck in the middle is torture.”

“I wrote this song in Seattle at Mike Herrera from MXPX’s home studio. He let me live there for a couple of months while working on the record. I love writing in Seattle because it gives me all of the ’90s grunge rock vibes. Plus, it rains all the time, and I love the rain.”

Update: Pierce The Veil have announced fifth studio album The Jaws of Life, out February 10, 2023 via Fearless Records. The record will include both singles, twelve tracks in total and a feature from singer-songwriter Chloe Moriondo.

On the record, Fuentes continues:

“This album has truly brought us closer than we’ve ever been. It was extremely difficult for us to be off the road and apart for so long. We’ve never missed anything more than playing music together and never had such an strong appreciation for recording, touring, and simply being in the same room together than we do now. The Jaws of Life is about how life can sink its teeth into you and try to devour you. The negativity in the world and within your mind can be a vicious thing. We’re extremely grateful for this record, our fans, and the opportunity to play live music again.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘Emergency Contacthere

Pre-order The Jaws of Life here

Pierce The Veil Jaws of Life

Pierce The VeilThe Jaws of Life tracklisting

1. Death of an Executioner
2. Pass the Nirvana 
3. Even When I’m Not with You 
4. Emergency Contact
5. Flawless Execution 
6. The Jaws of Life
7. Damn the Man, Save the Empire 
8. Resilience 
9. Irrational Fears (Interlude)
10. Shared Trauma 
11. So Far So Fake 
12. Fractures feat. Chloe Moriondo

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (690 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.