NOFX Release the Song That Blink-182 Didn’t Want, ‘Punk Rock Cliche’


NOFX may be calling it a day next year but they’re hardly going to go quietly into the punk rock night. If anything, it’s almost like they’re hell bent on kicking all of our arses one last time before hanging up their Party Boots. The punk rock icons’ latest offering is new single ‘Punk Rock Cliché’ off their forthcoming release Double Album, out December 2 via Fat Wreck Chords.

Incidentally, ‘Punk Rock Cliché‘ is the same song Fat Mike wrote in 2016 with then Blink-182 member Matt Skiba and was supposed to be included on the Blink album California. Mike told Spin Magazine:

“They recorded the album, they recorded the song for the album, and their label said “this is your first single”. Matt called me and said ‘Dude, you won’t believe this, but your song ‘Punk Rock Cliché’ is going to be our first single’. It was a big deal because it was their first single in years. Then he called me up six weeks later and said ‘I don’t know how to tell you this, but I told the band you wrote the song and they dropped it off the album completely”. I was really bummed because I thought it was going to be my first radio hit.’” 

Well it hasn’t gone to waste as it has been included on their next LP Double Album and what better way to celebrate the release of the album than a tour, right here in Australia. NOFX will be in Melbourne as part of Good Things Festival on December 2 which is incidentally their Double Album release day.

Don’t you dare miss this one, as this is most definitely going to be the last time you’ll see NOFX, and as Fletcher Dragge of Pennywise said, “they won’t be pulling a Motley Crüe”. You’ve been warned. See you in the pit.

Words by Duane James @duanejames666

Stream ‘Punk Rock Clichéhere

Pre-order Double Album here


NOFX – Double Album tracklisting

1. Darby Crashing Your Party
2. My Favorite Enemy
3. Don’t Count on Me
4. Johanna Constant Teen
5. Punk Rock Cliche
6. Fuck Day Six
7. Is It Too Soon if Time is Relative?
8. Alcopollack
9. Three Against Me
10. Gone with The Heroined

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About duanejames (52 Articles)
Wall of Sound's resident Heavy Metal Bogan. Father. Husband. Professional Tattooer. Untrained Artist. Part time writer. Full time fanboy.