Red Hot Chili Peppers Jam Ambient Track Groover ‘Eddie’

Red Hot Chili Peppers Eddie

How does a Red Hot Chili Peppers fan even cope with this much new music all at once? Not the worst problem to have it seems. After we fell in love with Unlimited Love they started playing shows again and shared that a second double-album was on the way, and that blew our minds – lockdown must have got those creative juices flowing hard in California.

Return of the Dream Canteen is out October 14 via Warner Music and it includes groovy new single ‘Tippa My Tongue‘. Speaking of stages, Aussie fans are getting just a little excited for their upcoming tour with Post Malone next year.

Following on from the lead-single, Red Hot Chili Peppers have pumped the brakes once again on brand new single ‘Eddie‘ which leans even further into their ambient rock side. Spanning just under six minutes, the genre-defining band have perfected the song’s structure with John Frusciante having fun with the seamless delivery of calming yet powerful riffs. Across the track, they spotlight each instrument at different times, jamming with pure joy.

On the new single Anthony Kiedis comments:

“Sometimes we don’t realize how deeply affected and connected we are to artists until the day they die. Eddie Van Halen was a one of a kind. The day after his death Flea came into rehearsal with an emotional bassline. John, Chad and I started playing along and pretty soon with all our hearts, a song in his honor effortlessly unfolded. It felt good to be sad and care so much about a person who had given so much to our lives. Although the song doesn’t speak to Eddie by name, it talks about his early days on the Sunset Strip and the rock n roll tapestry that Van Halen painted on our minds. In the end, our song asks that you not remember Eddie for dying but for living his wildest dream.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘Eddie‘ here

Pre-order / pre-save Return of the Dream Canteen here

RHCP Dream Canteen

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Return of the Dream Canteen tracklisting

1. Tippa My Tongue
2. Peace And Love
3. Reach Out
4. Eddie
5. Fake As Fu@k
6. Bella
7. Roulette
8. My Cigarette
9. Afterlife
10. Shoot Me A Smile
11. Handful
12. The Drummer
13. Bag Of Grins
14. La La La La La La La La
15. Copperbelly
16. Carry Me Home
17. In The Snow

About Ricky Aarons (872 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.