Dayseeker Hits New Highs on ‘Without Me’ & Announces New Record Dark Sun

Dayseeker Without Me

Sombre metalcore staple Dayseeker are ready to take over the world, one tear at a time. Recently, the Orange County act graced Aussie shores for the first time with Thornhill on their Heroine tour, not to mention a cheeky headliner in Melbourne where they played their 2019 record Sleeptalk in full. It was a great opportunity for Australian fans to hear the pre-COVID tunes played live before the four-piece embark on their next album cycle.

Speaking of, today is a big day for Dayseeker who’ve teased new single ‘Without Me‘ on socials, with the caption “Our next chapter unfolds“; we’re just a bit disappointed that it’s not an Eminem cover. The track comes off the back of anthemic release ‘Neon Grave‘ back in March which was truly spine-tingling. Vocalist Rory Rodriguez also features on Darko (US)’s ambient single ‘Come Home‘, included on their freshly announced record Oni. Dayseeker will also feature on a massive U.S. tour with Bad Omens, Make Them Suffer and Thousand Below in the coming months.

Let’s dive into ‘Without Me‘ – and it’s a journey, let me tell you. Rodriguez takes you into their depressive ambient ecosystem immediately before hitting notes higher than ever heard on yet on any Dayseeker material. The Cali band kick in with a great production mix with super crisp tones for a mighty chorus, setting the track up for a ride as emotive as ever. ‘Without Me‘ lives up to the hype and is going to feature on all your playlists for many moons to come.

On the new single Rodriguez comments:

“‘Without Me’ is about an old relationship that died and how it begged to ask the question: ‘How do you feel the same without me as a part of their life?”

Update: Dayseeker have announced their fifth studio album Dark Sun, out November 4 via Spinefarm Records. The record will feature both ‘Neon Grave‘ and ‘Without Me‘.

On the album itself, the vocalist continues:

“Dark Sun is a collection of songs that deeply explored my personal life over the last two years. Most of it is written about my father’s passing, about how it felt like the sun burned out the day he passed, and how the world is a little darker without him in it.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘Without Me’ here

Pre-Save Dark Sun here

Dayseeker Without Me Review

Dayseeker Dark Sun tracklisting

1. Dreamstate
2. Neon Grave
3. Without Me
4. Homesick
5. Midnight Eternal
6. Dark Sun
7. Quicksand
8. Paper Heart
9. Crying While You’re Dancing
10. Parallel
11. Afterglow (Hazel’s Song)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (654 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.