Vatic Release Riffy New Single ‘No Sleep’ And Announce New EP Mercer 217

Following on from the release of their impressive single titled 217Vatic backed up their abilities and have brought us a brand new offering titled ‘No Sleep’ to sink our jaws into. The new single follows on from where ‘217’ began and continues to tell the tale which is set in a haunted house and follows the changes of an individual named Chance as they spend extended periods of time in a torturous setting.

Vocalist Matt Payne explains further:

“The song 217 sets the scene around this haunted house, where most of our story happens. There are holes in the walls and floors where bodies are hiding, their souls wandering and tormenting the house, never sleeping. ‘No Sleep’ is a glimpse into the horror that Chance is living and becoming. It’s a short thundering tune that leads to grimy realisations – it’s hunt or be hunted. Inspired by classic horror slashers and psychopaths, the new track is the first sign that Chance is becoming something more sinister in this next chapter.”

The full story of Chance will be released via Mercer 217 on October 21 in the form of an EP, which was engineered, produced, mixed and mastered by Thornhill‘s bassist, Nick Sjogren. Given the two songs that we have been able to experience thus far, this concept EP is shaping up to be one exciting release that will set this band up for domination in 2023 and beyond.

Make sure you get down to Stay Gold in Melbourne on August 27 to see ‘217’ and ‘No Sleep’ performed live as Vatic support Bad/Love on their ‘Nothing To Lose’ launch show – tickets here.

Words by Adam Rice

Stream ‘No Sleephere

Vatic Mercer 217

VaticMercer 217 tracklisting

1. Not Ready To Die
2. Silver Glass
3. The Colour In Your Eyes
4. 217
5. No Sleep
6. Dead End
7. Remember East Mercer
8. Let Me Die

About Adam 'Ricey' Rice (139 Articles)
A passionate music enthusiast who plunges himself into the world created by an artist only to come back to reality and write about his experience.