Panic! At The Disco Returns with New Album & Title-Track ‘Viva Las Vengeance’

Is anyone feeling a bit meh with this new song?

Woke up this morning knowing that Panic! At The Disco aka Brendon Urie was back with new material and when I chucked it on, I was just left disappointed. Even 5 spins in, it’s not getting better, despite knowing the talent this human has behind him. The new release is the title track of the band’s upcoming album Viva Las Vengeance due for release on August 19th via Fueled by Ramen.

This release will take a look at the life and upbringing of Urie in Las Vegas where he started the band wayyy back in the day (first as a blink-182 cover band) before taking the world by storm with their debut 2005 album A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out. 

“Viva Las Vengeance is a look back at who I was 17 years ago and who I am now with the fondness I didn’t have before. I didn’t realize I was making an album and there was something about the tape machine that kept me honest.”

They grasped the hearts of emos early on and dabbled with new sounds with each album, completely changing dynamics on 2008’s Pretty Odd before half the band departed and what followed was a trial and error of releases with Vices & Virtues (2011), Too Weird To Live, Too Rare To Die! (2013), the stellar return to form on Death of a Bachelor (2016) and 2018’s Pray For The Wicked which spawned the band’s last memorable upbeat single ‘High Hopes‘ (Fun Fact: Which managed to get played on Aussie mainstream radio thanks to a top bloke named Dan Hill).

But this new era? Talk about stepping out on the wrong foot!

Sure there are 11 other songs, but when leading with a new venture (not to mention an album opener), you gotta make sure the first one sticks otherwise you’ll lose the attention of your audience in an instant. Am I being cynical? Maybe. But I know Brendon can do better than this. His vocals are impeccable – the rest of the song though – pass!

Words by Paul ‘Browny’ Brown (@brownypaul)

Don’t believe me, stream ‘Viva Las Vengeancehere

Pre-Order the album here

Panic! At The Disco – Viva Las Vengeance tracklisting

1. Viva Las Vengeance
2. Middle of a Breakup
3. Don’t Let The Light Go Out
4. Local God
5. Star Spangled Banger
6. God Killed Rock And Roll
7. Say It Louder
8. Sugar Soaker
9. Something About Maggie
10. Sad Clown
11. All By Yourself
12. Do It To Death

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3574 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!