Scary Kids Scaring Kids Drop the Emo-Core ‘Nightmare’ with Spencer Charnas

I personally haven’t heard about Scary Kids Scaring Kids since the days they appeared on Soundwave Festival way back when. But apparently the band are making a resurgence in a big way in 2022 and what — there’s a new album on the way! They’ve just unleashed their new single ‘Nightmare’ which also features Ice Nine Kills’ frontman Spencer Charnas.

‘Nightmare’ is made of the stuff that your self-conscious wishes you were dreaming of at night, with its alluring metal/rock style coming at you in steady waves. Spencer adds in some nasty growls intertwining with vocalist Chad Crawford’s melodic cleans. Together, the two vocalists sound like a smooth blend of emo and post-hardcore; we’ll dub it emo-core.

If you’re keen to hear more of what Scary Kids Scaring Kids have been up to lately, they’re revealing it all on forthcoming album Out of Light, out May 27 through Velocity Records. The record is a complete collaboration effort, featuring not only Charnas, but Vaines, LiL Lotus, Underoath’s Spencer Chamberlain, MOD SUN and ERRA’s Jesse Cash. Sounds like a cool LP to sink your teeth into come May. Pre-order it here

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Scary Kids Scaring Kids – Out of Light tracklisting:

01. Nightmare (feat. Spencer Charnas)
02. The Dark (feat. Noah Sebastian)
03. To the Unknown (feat. Vaines)
04. Until You Come Back (feat. Matt MacDonald)
05. Knock it all Down (feat. LiL Lotus)
06. New Morning (feat. Cove Reber)
07. Omens (feat. Spencer Chamberlain)
08. Black Hole (feat. Donovan Melero)
09. I Wanna Know (feat. Jesse Cash)
10. Escape from My Reality (feat. MOD SUN)
11. Endlessly Yours (feat. Tyler Posey and phem)
12. For Atlas (feat. Michael Swank)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.