Thornhill To Follow-Up The Dark Pool With Heroine Record + ‘Hollywood’ Single


Are you #HornyForThorny? You’re about to be. Aussie metalcore outfit Thornhill are set to follow-up their highly successful debut album The Dark Pool (our review here) with Heroine, their just announced sophomore record out on June 3rd, 2022 via UNFD. The eleven-track will feature singles ‘Arkangel‘ and ‘Casanova‘, as well as their latest lift, ‘Hollywood‘.

The new single follows on from the aforementioned tracks sonically, but the pulse of Thornhill is really felt this time. ‘Hollywood‘ captures the essence of the band’s evolving direction, fusing modern metalcore with influences from bands like Deftones, Tool and even Deafheaven and Radiohead from an ambient point of view.

On ‘Hollywood‘, vocalist Jacob Charlton comments on the lyrical themes, specifically falling out of love:

“The premise of this song follows a protagonist, who is coming to terms with being in love with another girl he’s just met while still being in a relationship that has been slowly falling apart around him. This one in a million encounter with someone who has changed his entire world in a matter of glances is the theme we follow throughout the song until he finally builds the courage to say it out loud. He makes little decisions, puts his current partner in a bad light to make himself feel like he’s in the right and calls her names as she begs him to announce his true feelings for someone he’s met on their trip to Hollywood.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Thornhill – ‘Hollywoodhere and
Pre-order Heroine here

Thornhill Heroine tracklist

ThornhillHeroine tracklisting

1. The Hellfire Club
2. Leather Wings
3. Blue Velvet
4. Arkangel
5. Valentine
6. Casanova
7. Something Terrible Came With the Rain
8. Hollywood
9. Raw
10. Varsity Hearts
11. Heroine

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (693 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.