Dune Rats Announce New Record with ‘What A Memorable Night’

Australia’s favourite rock… er, stoners, the Dune Rats have unleashed details of their forthcoming fourth album, Real Rare Whale with latest single ‘What A Memorable Night’. Following a trail of one-off tracks like ‘Up’ and ‘Too Tough Terry’ to keep us entertained throughout the pandemic, the Brisbane trio are gearing up to take the world by storm with a sense of normality on the horizon.

‘What a Memorable Night’ picks up where the band left us in 2020 with their #1 album, Hurry Up and Wait, which saw the Dunies complete a sold out run across Australia as the pandemic took off. Remember the pop punk, Blink-182 sensibilities of ‘No Plans’? Featuring an overly energetic blend of punk riffs, alongside some prolific hooks to make them catchy enough for an expansive audience, ‘What A Memorable Night’ reminds me of that style and marks a solid progression for the boys.

Although the song does remind us very vividly of wildly regrettable nights of our youth, it’s still very much a typical Dune Rats song and showcases their unique brand of fun-filled punk rock perfectly.

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Dune Rats will release Real Rare Whale on June 24. Pre-order here

Dune Rats – Real Rare Whale tracklisting:

1. LTD
2. Dumb TV
3. UP
4. Pamela Aniston
5. What A Memorable Night
6. Skate Or Don’t
7. Space Cadet
8. Melted Into Two
9. Drink All Day
10. If This Is The End

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.