Looks Like Bodyjar Are Keen on Planning a Plastic Skies 20th Anniversary!

Australian punk legends Bodyjar are returning to their former glory days this week with new album, New Rituals (our review here). To celebrate this return to form for the Melbourne outfit, we jumped on the line with vocalist/guitarist Cameron Baines to catch up and get the scoop on what is their seventh record in a 25+ year tenure as a band.

The Melbourne punk act helped pave the way for the Australian punk scene back in the 90s and 2000s with records like Rimshot! (1996), How It Works (2000) and Plastic Skies (2002). Their music saw Bodyjar land slots on music festivals like Big Day Out, Vans Warped Tour alongside bands blink-182 and Pennywise. Hell, they even caught Tony Hawk’s attention!

Wouldn’t it be nice to have access to a time machine and travel back in time to the glory days of punk? Well, life isn’t a movie and we can only but hope for the next thing. With their Plastic Skies LP this year celebrating 20 years since it was released, we kinda hoped our wishes would be fulfilled and asked Cam if there were any plans for a Plastic Skies anniversary special:

“I’d like to do like a vinyl version and do a little tour of it, that would be sick. But we’re probably too late because if you want to get vinyl made now it takes ages. I’d love to do a whole set of that album though. That’d be cool. I reckon that’s something we should look into for sure.”

While they’re looking at making things happen with that and a tour to celebrate New Rituals, sadly the Australian Government is making our dreams look bleak with their constant regulations against live music in support of sporting events like the Australian Open. Don’t lose hope though! Things are changing by the week in that area, so who knows how the year will pan out.

Who else would be keen to relive their youth at these shows?

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Revisit our interview with Bodyjar vocalist Cameron Baines here

Bodyjar’s seventh record, New Rituals is out now. Grab it here

Bodyjar – New Rituals tracklisting:

1. Burning Truths
2. Billy
3. Get Out Of My Head
4. Ignorance
5. Surrender
6. Big Shot
7. Rain
8. Pieces
9. Be The One
10. Tongues
11. Reaction
12. When the Stars Go Out

About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.