Bodyjar Unveil New Rituals LP; Drop Cover of Dragon’s ‘Rain’

It’s raining in Brisbane right now so this news is extra special for us up here…

Aussie rock/punk royalty Bodyjar have embraced their dad rock influences and debuted a cover of the classic Dragon banger ‘Rain‘ to celebrate the announcement of their forthcoming full-length album New Rituals which is set for release on Feb 4, 2022 on their own label Pile Of San Records.

The cover is the third release from the record, following the drops of singles ‘Big Shot‘ in 2020 and ‘Get Out Of My Head‘ back in August. If you know the song, you’ll know how infectiously catchy the chorus is to belt out (on the worksite, at the pub, on an outdated rock radio station that needs to get with the times and embrace the next generation of upcoming Aussie rock bands…..) and their rendition is just as good as the original.

On the new cover, Cam Baines says:

“Dragon’s Rain is a song that we have toyed with at jams for over 10 years but we never really grabbed a hold of it until this album. We really wanted a cool 80’s song on the album because ‘Hazy Shade Of Winter’ always went down so well live and we haven’t recorded a cover in a long time. I’d also just finished reading ‘Chasing The Dragon’, which is Marc Hunters biography and was blown away by the band’s story. Overall a great band of song writers, with Todd Hunter also writing ‘Age Of Reason’ for John Farnham. I know we never had THAT kind of success but I feel a connection with them because they always seemed to put the songs first. There’s something amazing about it, it was their comeback song and it worked great! So with Todd’s blessing we can finally put it out”

Come on Cam, you lads were on the Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater soundtrack. That game shaped a generation and put Australian punk bands on the map! Plus, Bodyjar‘s rendition of ‘Hazy Shade of Winter‘ came in at #4 on our list of The Top 7 ‘A Hazy Shade Of Winter’ Covers, so they know how to bash out a good bop when the time calls for it.

25 years in the game – you know what you’re in for with this upcoming release and we can’t wait to get our grubby dad bod sporting hands on it!

Stream ‘Rainhere

Pre-order New Rituals here

Bodyjar – New Rituals tracklisting

1. Burning Truth
2. Billy
3. Get Out Of My Head
4. Ignorance
5. Surrender
6. Big Shot
7. Rain
8. Pieces
9. Be The One
10. Tongues
11. Reaction
12. When The Stars Go Out

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3810 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!