Lewis & Henry de Jong – Alien Weaponry ‘A Metal Evolution’

Alien Weaponry have been storming the metal community for over two years now, and their sophomore album Tangaroa is finally here! Scoring an impressive 9/10 from our reviewer (read our review here) and glowing comments such as, “It’s no exaggeration to say they’ve carved their own niche, opening the way for heavy first nations bands from all over the word”, it’s fair to say that they’ve certainly made their mark.

This album sees them delve deeper into the progressive side of thrash metal, and we had to give them a call to find out a little bit more. Have a listen to hear Lewis and Henry de Jong talk about how they’ve grown since their debut album Tū, what they hope for the band in coming years, and how Lewis finally convinced the band to record a song in drop A. Also, please enjoy Ebony not being able to roll her ‘R’s’.

Interview by Ebony Story

Tangaroa is out now via Napalm Records. Grab your copy here.

Alien Weaponry – Tangaroa tracklisting:

1. Tītokowaru
2. Hatupatu
3. Ahi Kā
4. Tangaroa
5. Unforgiving
6. Blinded
7. Kai Whatu
8. Crooked Monsters
9. Buried Underground
10. Dad
11. Īhenga
12. Down the Rabbit Hole

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ebony Story (204 Articles)
Wall of Sound Music Journo & Podcast Host // Loving the heavy heavy