Halsey’s Empowering New Album Is Co-Produced by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross

Happy New Music Friday lovers! If you’re looking to extend your musican horizons today and venture away from the metal/core you know and love so well, why not give Halsey’s new release If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power a spin, because it was produced by two very well known figures in heavy music world… Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross of Nine Inch Nails!

Now this is in no way shape or form taking away from the talent that is Halsey herself – who has popped up in collaborative mode over the past year throughout the alternative scene – and credit where it’s due, she wrote this entire album all by herself last year before teaming up with the NIN icons to put their finnessing touches on it.

Halsey announced via her Instagram that:

“This album is a concept album about the joys and horrors of pregnancy and childbirth. It was very important to me that the cover art conveyed the sentiment of my journey over the past few months. The dichotomy of the Madonna and the Whore. The idea that me as a sexual being and my body as a vessel and gift to my child are two concepts that can co-exist peacefully and powerfully. My body has belonged to the world in many different ways the past few years, and this image is my means of reclaiming my autonomy and establishing my pride and strength as a life force for my human being.

This cover image celebrates pregnant and postpartum bodies as something beautiful, to be admired. We have a long way to go with eradicating the social stigma around bodies & breastfeeding. I hope this can be a step in the right direction!”

In a world where women are taking back their lives and rallying in support of each other, this album couldn’t have come at a better time. Halsey, in my opinion, is at the top of her game in this music business and this album is evident of that. Not only do you get to hear an incredible artist pouring her soul into her music, but you get to hear a more mature sound from her with a record that ventues away from pop world and into new ground.

Not only is the album out now, but there’ll be a very special performance on Monday Night (for us in Australia) where she’ll be performing the new tunes via livestream event broadcast across the world – tickets are on sale here!

It’s a good time to be a Halsey fan! Suss out the absolute powerhouse anthem that is ‘I am not a woman, I’m a god‘  below and see what I mean!

Stream If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Powerhere

Halsey – If I Can’t Have Love I Want Power tracklist

1. The Tradition
2. Bells in Santa Fe
3. Easier than Lying
4. Lilith
5. Girl is a Gun
6. You asked for this
7. Darling
8. 1121
9. honey
10. Whispers
11. I am not a woman, I’m a god
12. The Lighthouse
13. Ya’aburnee

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3586 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!