Iron Maiden Drop ‘Stratego’ Ahead of Album Next Month!

Fresh from the release of ‘The Writing On The Wall‘, their first new song in six years, Iron Maiden have returned with its follow up ‘Stratego’ taken from their forthcoming album Senjutsu (out September 3rd).

After getting an ear and eyeful of the first single I honestly thought I’d have to wait until the album was released to wrap my ears around another Maiden song. But here we are only a few short weeks later and the British legends have dropped yet another single. This time it’s the second track off of the upcoming Senjutsu titled ‘Stratego’. First impressions, I’d have to say every departure the band made with ‘The Writing On the Wall’ they returned home with this single. It is instantly recognisable as an Iron Maiden song, no gentle intro this time around, the strategy on this track was clearly, ‘if it’s not broke don’t fix it’. Steve Harris’ unmistakable bass sound combined with those famous galloping guitars, this is Maiden as we know it. Behind that enormous drum kit has Nicko McBrian pounding out an almost hypnotic beat.

As much as the first single divided fans and critics alike, ‘Stratego’ one will surely unite. To quote Sun Tzu “If it is to your advantage, make a forward move; if not, stay where you are.”. It looks to me like the band has done both and victory is imminent.

Words By Gareth Williams

Pre-Order Senjutsu here

iron maiden Senjutsu album

Iron Maiden – Senjutsu tracklisting

1. Senjutsu
2. Stratego
3. The Writing On The Wall
4. Lost In A Lost World
5. Days Of Future Past
6. The Time Machine
7. Darkest Hour
8. Death Of The Celts
9. The Parchment
10. Hell On Earth

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Gareth Williams (123 Articles)
Resident ranga and Heavy Metal Poet. The only guy dumb enough to recite poetry at Soundwave, star of stage and radio. Now writing words for Wall Of Sound