Dream Theater’s ‘The Alien’ Is A Fast Paced Prog-Metal Fantasy!

Today we finally get to hear the first taste of Dream Theater‘s forthcoming album A View From The Top of The World which is set for release on October 22 with ‘The Alien‘. It kicks off sounding like an instrumental assault on the senses before frontman James LaBrie‘s distinctive vocals kick in, amidst the mind-fuck of a musical arrangement put on disply by his gellow bandmates.

We just love to play our instruments,” observes guitarist John Petrucci. “That never goes away. I love to be creative, write, and exercise that part of my mind. We’ve been able to do this for a long time, and we don’t take it for granted. Whenever we get together, we know we can’t disappoint ourselves or our fans, so we manage to try even harder.

In terms of how they keep continuing to blow minds, LaBrie adds:

We approach every album like it’s our first… It’s been such a great ride, but we’re not going to stop.

Seriously, if you love prog, you’re gonnna lose your mind over this nine and a half minute journey through space and time!

Stream ‘The Alienhere

Pre-Order A View From The Top of The World here

Dream Theater – A View From The Top Of The World tracklisting

1. The Alien (9:32)
2. Answering The Call (7:35)
3. Invisible Monster (6:31)
4. Sleeping Giant (10:05)
5. Transcending Time (6:25)
6. Awaken The Master (9:47)
7. A View From The Top Of The World (20:24)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3586 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!