Ice Nine Kills Debut Child’s Play Inspired Single ‘Assault & Batteries’

If you missed it last week, we dropped our Song Inspiration Speculation list for Ice Nine Kills’ forthcoming The Silver Scream 2 album which featured our predictions of potential horror movies that inspired the tracks on the band’s new release and we can officially confirm we’ve got one of our guesses right!!

The song ‘Assault & Batteries‘ is out now and the inspiration for this one came from the slasher series Child’s Play which made Chucky a household name in horror (and left many of us still traumatised from our childhood).

“Wanna Play?” Chucky is the next horror icon inspiration from The Silver Scream 2

Frontman Spencer Charnas switches between cleans and heavy screams with precision and there are plenty of movie easter eggs throughout the song including some of Chucky‘s famous one liners and the black magic spell that transferred movie murderer Charles Lee Ray’s soul inside him. There’s a breakdown complete with guitar solo and childish sound effects which really make this a juxaposition to listen to (is it a heavy song about a murderous doll or a kid’s show!?)

Either way, it’s fun, thrilling and Ice Nine Kills doing what they do best. Check out the video below which is a bloody hilarious good time!

Stream ‘Assault & Batterieshere

The Silver Scream 2 is out October 15th via Fearless Records
Pre-order here

Ice Nine Kills – The Silver Scream 2: Welcome to Horrorwood tracklisting

1. Opening Night…
2. Welcome To Horrorwood
3. A Rash Decision
4. Assault & Batteries
5. The Shower Scene
6. Funeral Derangements
7. Rainy Day
8. Hip To Be Scared (ft. Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach)
9. Take Your Pick (ft. Corpsegrinder of Cannibal Corpse)
10. The Box (ft. Brandon Saller of Atreyu and Ryan Kirby of Fit For A King)
11. F.L.Y. (ft. Buddy Nielsen of Senses Fail)
12. Würst Vacation
13. Ex-Mørtis
14. Farewell II Flesh

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3809 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Let The Silver Scream 2 Song Inspiration Speculation Begin… – Wall Of Sound
  2. Ice Nine Kills Are Releasing A Resident Evil Inspired Track Very Soon! – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.