Miles Away Reunite for Last Ride Records’ New Compilation ‘This Is Australia – Volume 2’

Australian hardcore icons Miles Away have been pretty quiet on the music front since the release of their 2015 album Tide. The boys gear up each year and hit the stage for local X-Mas shows in Perth but for the most part, they keep pretty quiet (especially when it comes to new music) but some news that’s sparked up this week is certainly going to ruffle a few feathers!

The boys have teamed up with Last Ride Records for their new compilation This Is Australia: Volume Two – which features new tracks from a vast array of heavy Aussie crème de la crème including SPEED, Nerve Damage, Psalm and more! The album was conceived during COVID and now we’re starting to get out first tastes of the release which had a simple concept in place for the recording process – writing and recording a songs around the one minute mark, showcasing a strong representation of what is happening currently in this country.

Miles Away‘s offering is called ‘Search For Inner Peace‘ and was inspired by the tragic passing of friends and former peers close to the band as they explained:

“The words to Search for Inner Peace were penned at an emotional time for our community, around the time we lost Steven Hopperton and Sean Kennedy in quick succession.

In previous years we had said goodbye to Rowan, Dylan, Shane, Chris, Ricky and countless other individuals we had played and toured with over the years. By no means is this issue only prevalent to members in bands or the greater music scene in general. We are losing our brothers and sisters, from all walks of life far too often and it’s hard to accept.

While there is not a one-size-fits-all solution for all, we urge those feeling like there’s nowhere to turn to reach out in whatever way they feel comfortable. Whether that is through one of the many foundations established to provide assistance, having a conversation with a friend, or speaking to someone with specialist experience.

Throughout our lives we have been conditioned to soldier through the hard times, to hide our issues in order to reach unrealistic expectations of success.

We hope this song does our friends justice, and resonates with anyone feeing the same way.”

If you or anyone you know needs help with their own mental well-being call Lifeline on 13 11 14 or Beyond Blue on 1300 22 4636 or find your closest Suicide Prevention/Crisis Support Organisation on Google…

This Is Australia – Volume 2 is out July 30th
Pre-order here

This Is Australia – Volume 2 tracklisting

1. Shaun Daniel Allen – Introduction
3. Culture Shock – The Shrine
4. The Chain – Pain
5. Nerve Damage – Wall/Head
6. Ill Natured – Blood In The Dirt
7. Smash – Hammer
8. Psalm – Built On Sand
9. Broken – …Life Passes You By
10. Miles Away – Search For Inner Peace

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3630 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!