NOFX Unveil 14th Studio Album + Debut ‘Linewleum’ feat. Avenged Sevenfold

They’ve been making punk rock for almost 40 years and NOFX are showing no signs of slowing down any time soon with the announcement of their 14th full-length album, titled Single Album, which is set for release on February 26th via Fat Wreck Chords.

Firstly you might be wondering what’s with the title? Well let’s get that out the way first with frontman Fat Mike revealing:

“When you write a double album, you write differently… I was writing really different songs, and some fun songs, but you have to make a double album interesting enough to listen to the whole way. I wanted to make a perfect double album, and I didn’t accomplish that. So I decided to just make a single album, hence the title.”

And as for the release, they’ve got ten new tracks that’ll momentarily take you away from the current world and fill your head with thought-provoking questions based upon the tracks being played for you!

There’s the nearly six-minute post-hardcore opener (“The Big Drag”). The meta sendoff for the band’s best-known song (“Linewleum”). The reggae-inflected song about a mass shooting (“Fish in a Gun Barrel”). Even a piano ballad (“Your Last Resort”).

The first single is the aforementioned song ‘Linewleum‘, which not only serves as a tribute to the countless aspiring punk rockers who have covered its sibling ‘Linoleum‘ in the past, but as Mike also explains, the idea for it just blossomed from one idea to the next, until he ended up collaborating with Avenged Sevenfold:

“I have no idea why “Linoleum” is THE NOFX song that is covered by so many bands while other NOFX songs get hardly any attention. “Linoleum” wasn’t a single, it had no video, it got no radio play, and most importantly, it didn’t even have a chorus!!! All popular songs have choruses! WTF! So, One night I stayed up till 4:00 am checking out all the different versions on YouTube. Watching hundreds of bands from over 28 countries (mostly Indonesia) doing “Linoleum” was a humbling experience for me.

So I decided to write a song that was a shout out to all those people that learned those four chords and remembered the non-rhyming lyrics. Then I asked the biggest of all the bands (Avenged Sevenfold) to play some leads on the song. Then M Shadows suggested we do a video together. Then I figured I should put all of the bands in the video. Well, I couldn’t fit all the bands, but I picked a bunch of cool ones! A song about not playing a song that’s not a hit song with a video about other bands covering the song! This is why I love punk rock writing punk songs. Rules out the door!”

Just to summarise that, Fat Mike wrote a tribute to a non-single song that NOFX wrote for their Punk In Drublic album, which was covered by stacks of punk rock fans and he also managed to get Avenged Sevenfold on it… THAT’S FUCKING PUNK RAWK!

Give ‘Linewleum‘ a spin on your fav streaming app here

Pre-Order Single Album here

NOFX – Single Album tracklisting

1. The Big Drag
2. I Love You More Than I Hate Me
3. Fuck Euphemism
4. Fish in a Gun Barrel
5. Birmingham
6. Linewleum
7. My Bro Cancervive Cancer
8. Grieve Soto
9. Doors and Fours
10. Your Last Resort

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3449 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower... Definitely NOT a Hipster!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. NOFX Drop New Single ‘F*ck Euphemism’ – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.