Stuck Out – Lie Through Your Teeth (EP Review)

Stuck Out – Lie Through Your Teeth
Released: 18 December 2020


Josh Walker // Vocals
Ian Browney // Guitar
Sheldon Schuyler // Bass
Lachy Lydiard // Drums



Melbourne pop punk four piece Stuck Out have done the hard yards in their early career, opening for the likes of Senses Fail, The Story So Far and the inaugural Good Things Festival. And all for good reason. Their second EP, Lie Through Your Teeth on heavyweight label Greyscale Records sees the band ignite stronger punk melodies with grit, and it’s surely going to help set them apart in the music scene.

The EP dives straight in with ‘Inverse’, a raw look at reckless behaviours and emits melodies similar to what we hear from The Story So Far. The song’s pulsating rock riffs will definitely reel you in and keep you hanging on for more. ‘False Promise’ sees vocalist Josh Walker ponder broken promises in a strained relationship and I’m enjoying how the guitars are interwoven into the angst being expressed through the verses. There’s a whole lot of punchy, fist-pumping energy here, which will be a good time in their future live set.

‘Hollow’ brings about rock anthem potential with its heavy punk rockiness and Walker giving off John Floreani energy. Musically, the guitars are pretty explosive, but I felt the emotion that was trying to push through on this track just didn’t come out as strong. It left me feeling a little flat, and dare I say it… hollow.

This empty feeling is short lived though. Saving the best for last, ‘Mindless’ launches straight into an upbeat, summery punk melody that’s calling for some moshpit action. Yours Truly frontwoman Mikaila Delgado lends her lovely as ever vocals to this track, which adds a little more pop sensibility to the tune.

While it’s nothing too groundbreaking, Stuck Out have done a decent effort with Lie Through Your Teeth here. There’s plenty of punk melodies and rock edge to keep any fan of pop punk engaged. I do feel as though the best is still yet to come from this Melbourne four piece and with a solid team behind them, Stuck Out may end up following a similar path to Trophy Eyes or The Story So Far in the not too distant future.

Stuck Out – Lie Through Your Teeth EP tracklisting:

1. Inverse
2. False Promise
3. Hollow
4. Mindless (featuring Mikaila Delgado)

Rating: 7/10
Lie Through Your Teeth is out Friday through Greyscale Records. Pre-order here
Review By Tamara May (@citylightstam)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1055 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.