LIMBS – Only The Lonely Know (EP Review)

LIMBSOnly The Lonely Know
Released: 16 October 2020


Austin McAuley // Vocalist
Chris Klumpp // Bassist 
Joey DiBiase // Drummer
Tyler Martin // Guitar
Jordan Hunter // Guitar



Florida based post-hardcore oufit LIMBS are back after making a name for themselves over the past few years with several releases and undergoing some lineup changes. The band released a single or two before surprising fans with a three-track EP Only The Lonely Know, containing a cheeky fifteen minutes of heavy goodness for you. Let’s check it out!

‘Empty Vessel’ leads with drums and eerie guitars, and bounces into vocalist Austin McAuley’s high-pitched squeals. The track progresses quickly and the momentum is accentuated by distorted notes and periodal breakdowns, somewhat reminiscent of what Alpha Wolf are doing in a way, but of course with a faster tempo and different end of the range. ‘Empty Vessel’ is a decent EP opener and has that bounce you’ve been yearning for.

Sandwiched in the middle of this little EP is ‘I Used To Be You’ which leans into more of the band’s straight hardcore roots. It has no time for intros, it’s got the organised chaos, and it steps into the melodic chorus that interchanges back to the chaos again – a bit of a Refused vibe if you don’t mind; get two-stepping. The backing clean-vocals are a nice touch and emphasise the song’s melodies, without taking away from it’s hardcore punk forces.

Finally, taking a look at ‘Suffering’, it’s clear LIMBS didn’t want to leave you with a bad taste in your mouth. The track is arguably the biggest on the EP. McAuley and the band start at 100 and ease back into a far slower sing-along chorus. The back-and-forth in and out of chaos adds to the post-hardcore feel immensely, and the clean/unclean balance works perfectly. The mid-way breakdown in this number is seriously crunchy, and worthy of the wait. The band dial it up one more time before the track ends with a graded cool-down, leaving us salivating for more. 

Give this tasty EP a listen and select that ‘Repeat’ function and you’ll be reciting it back-to-front quick smart – the only way. 

LIMBS - Only The Lonely Know

LIMBS Only The Lonely Know tracklisting:

1. Empty Vessel
2. I Used To Be You
3. Suffering

Rating: 7/10
Only the Lonely Know is out now through UNFD. Grab a copy here
Review by Ricky Aarons @rickysaul90

About Ricky Aarons (333 Articles)
Heavy music writer for Wall of Sound // Metal Spin Class Guy

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Wall of Sound presents: “2020 YEAR IN REVIEW” – by LIMBS’ Jordan Hunter – Wall Of Sound

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: