Alpha Wolf Drop Heavy/Hard-Hitting Single ‘Restricted (18+)’

As Alpha Wolf gear up for the release of their long-awaited sophomore album a quiet place to die next Friday, we’ve been treated overnight to yet another song from it and this one is arguably their biggest and most hard-hitting single to date.

I was going to write my own thoughts about the track, but our resident Alpha Wolf fanatic and album reviewer Adam Rice summed it up pretty good in his review (which drops next week):

 “‘Restricted (R18+)’ is one for the adults and after listening, it’s no shock why. I don’t think the undeveloped mind of an underage person could handle something this mind-blowingly heavy and unpredictable. The thumping guitars overlayed with electronic samples works amazingly. No matter how hard I try, I cannot fault this song, with the highlight being strong breakdown at the outro of the song, which is inclusive of the lyrics “If I were you I’d want to kill myself too”. This breakdown has been perfected; it sends literal shivers down my spine each time I hear it.”

And he’s not wrong about the adult/mature themes. The AW boys have also issued a Trigger Warning (TW) for the music video, stating:

The clip contains scenes that some viewers may find disturbing, Including scenes of assault, violence and suicide. Viewer discretion is advised. If you wish to not view the clip, the song will be available on streaming services from midnight your local time. Wherever you are in Australia, you can call 1800 RESPECT (1800 737 732) for confidential information, counselling and support on sexual assault, domestic or family violence and abuse.

Fun Fact: Mitch Fogarty had his drumming parts filmed in Brisbane (where he lives) and was edited into the video to make it seem like he was with the band during the shoot in Melbourne. Alpha Wolf have adapted to COVID times with precision and professionalism many other bands can learn from!

Give it a spin below OR keep your eyes peeled on your fav streaming service if you’d rather just hear the song without the visuals.

If you or anyone you know needs help with their own mental well-being call Lifeline on 13 11 14 or Beyond Blue on 1300 22 4636 or find your closest Suicide Prevention/Crisis Support Organisation on Google…

a quiet place to die is out September 25th via Greyscale Records.
Pre-order here

alpha wolf - a quiet place to die

Alpha Wolf – a quiet place to die tracklisting

1. a quiet place to die
2. Creep
3. Golden Fate; Isolate
4. Akudama
5. Acid Romances
6. Rot In Pieces
7. Bleed 4 You
8. Ultra-Violet Violence
9. The Mind Bends To A Will Of It’s Own?
10. Restricted (18+)
11. Don’t Ask…

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3449 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower... Definitely NOT a Hipster!