DOWNER INC – Whatever This Is (EP Review)

downer inc - whatever it takes EP

DOWNER INC – Whatever This Is EP
Released: September 16th, 2020



If there is something good that has come out of 2020, it’s the amount of music that is being released. Some musicians have been using the COVID19 pandemic to take some time to relax and unwind, and then others, such as Kellin Quinn have used this time to write and record new music. Downer Inc is Kellin’s side project that he’s been working on with Cameron Mizell, who produced the Sleeping With Sirens records Feel and With Ears To See And Eyes To Hear. Whatever This Is is 6 tracks of emotion, rawness and Kellin’s signature vocals.

The EP kicks off with ‘Ground Zero’ and it’s essentially a rock ballad, driven by drums and bass. It sounds relatively simplistic, but it also just sounds ‘big’. Kellin has always had a very interesting vocal style, and has an incredible range that he showcases often, and this is no exception. It’s a great way to start the EP and to introduce the world to Downer Inc. Next up is ‘Generation Z’ which was the first single released from the EP with an accompanying lyric video. “But these boys and these girls they’re just looking for love, their dying for love” is one of the lyrics in the chorus that is super relatable, especially in the current climate. There is raw emotion in Kellin’s vocals throughout the track and it’s obvious that the lyrical content is important to him. Kellin has a very diverse style to his vocals and can easily switch between those that are sung, and the ones that are more so spoken and almost rapped, which gives the song a bit of diversity and difference than what is popular at the moment but could also be played on radio. ‘Work Of Art’ marks the halfway point of the EP and is up next and it has a real pop-rock vibe to it. Kellin’s layered vocals give the track more depth, and the mix of instrumentals, orchestral and synths is perfect. The track also features guest vocals from Eliza Grace, and she and Kellin sound incredible together. It’s definitely on the pop side in terms of the musicality of the song, but is probably one of my favourites on the EP and is a complete stand out.

Letdown’ is track four and is a really emotional track, which comes across in Kellin’s vocals. “Don’t let me breakdown’ is delivered so powerfully, as is the majority of the song, but there’s a real sense of calling out for help and wanting to be saved. If there was ever a really relatable lyric, this is it. The instrumentals of the song also support the vocals perfectly from underneath, and don’t get in the way of the message of the song. Second to last is ‘Truth or Dare’ and it has really, relaxed ‘chill vibes’ to it. It’s probably one of the most ‘modern’ songs on the EP and I can see it getting some mainstream radio play as it would fit in well with what is considered to be ‘popular’ now. Lastly we come to the title track of the EP ‘Whatever This Is’. It’s a funky little track and is a nice way to bookend the EP. It also features a signature Kellin Quinn scream in the second half, but is mostly sung and clean. It’s the right amount of tease to finish the EP and leave people wanting more.

Overall, Whatever This Is is a fun 6-track EP and it’s nice to see a different side to Kellin Quinn than what people are going to be used to from his Sleeping With Sirens persona.

Downer Inc – Whatever This Is EP tracklisting

1. Ground Zero
2. Generation Z
3. Work Of Art
4. Letdown
5. Truth or Dare
6. Whatever This Is

Rating: 8/10
Whatever This Is is out tomorrow via MDDN Records. Pre-order HERE.
Review by Kelsey Trevan. @kelsey_139

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Kellin Quinn ‘Inspiring The Next Generation’ – Wall Of Sound
  2. Kellin Quinn’s Downer Inc Drops New Song ‘Home’ – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.