Johannes Eckerström – Avatar ‘Music Shouldn’t Ever Be Easy’

With their eighth album fresh off the press and full of major hits, we put our hand up to grab some time with vocalist Johannes Eckerström of Avatar! Hunter Gatherer scored a whopping 9/10 from our reviewer Gareth Williams who said, ‘It’s hard and heavy, dripping with emotion and anguish, and quite possibly the best music Avatar have ever released.’ (Read our review here) So, hell yes we wanted to talk to these guys.

With it being his first ever Australian interview, Johannes chatted about turning back to the heavy heavy after Avatar Country, how he thinks music recorded live in the studio is better, and cooking delicious gnocci. Sorry, I forgot to ask for recipe tips.

Interview by Ebony Story



Avatar – Hunter Gatherer track listing:

1. Silence in the Age of Apes
2. Colossus
3. A Secret Door
4. God of Sick Dreams
5. Scream Until You Wake
6. Child
7. Justice
8. Gun
9. When All But Force Has Failed
10. Wormhole

Get your copy here!

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ebony Story (204 Articles)
Wall of Sound Music Journo & Podcast Host // Loving the heavy heavy