PREMIERE: We Set Signals Unveil New Single ‘Meet Me At Starlight Drive In’ + Announce New Album

After three hit singles showcasing their ever-evolving musical abilities so far this year, Brisbane post hardcore/pop punk outfit We Set Signals have finally announced their forthcoming album, Ordo will be released on September 25th this year. The band are also dropping their fourth single, ‘Meet Me At Starlight Drive In’.

Their new track kinda follows along the same veins as previous singles ‘Where Were You’ and ‘We Want You’, with its high energy rock riffs, catchy melody and post-chorus bridge that’s hard not to get into. The song reveals the band’s frustrations with the music industry and how sometimes it can be quite the challenge to stay afloat. Frontman Nick Wilkinson explains:

“…I wrote this song about how exhausting it can get just trying to chase your dreams, and how burnt out you can feel when you’re finally there.

There’s something about it that reminds me of my chat with Nick earlier this year about the band’s musical progression:

When we first started, we were really putting out stuff from our influences that we really enjoyed from the early 2000’s. And I just felt like our music was just a little… dated up until that point, and it certainly came through on a few comments we were getting on the music. I just wanted to break the mould. I wanted to write something that seemed a bit more current and a lot of my influences today are really experimenting with adding the electro/EDM vibe into what they’re doing, and I wanted to align with that. I just started experimenting with that kind of music and melding it with the band, and I think we really came across something cool. 

‘Meet Me At Starlight Drive In’ feels like their strongest single since ‘Where Were You’ and definitely fits in with the direction We Set Signals are heading in, shaping their current image and aligning themselves with the best of post-hardcore from I Prevail to Sleeping With Sirens. The song also features upcoming US act and We Are Triumphant label mates Osatia, with their vocalist Alex Pasibe lending a hand towards the end here.

We Set Signals’ new album, Ordo is out September 25th through We Are Triumphant Records. Pre-order here


We Set Signals – Ordo tracklisting:

1. Give Me A Sign
2. We Want You
3. Meet Me At Starlight Drive In (featuring Osatia)
4. Where Were You
5. Just Say Yes
6. I Wish I Wasn’t Right
7. War Never Changes
8. Terminus
9. We’ll Watch the World End
10. Aurora

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.