Napalm Death Drop New Single ‘Backlash Just Because’

Napalm Death interview

UK metal/grindcore legends Napalm Death have unleashed the first taste of their forthcoming album, Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism this week, and if you like your metal extra grimey, this new song is sure to be straight up your alley.

The new track is called ‘Backlash Just Because’ and it’s nonstop, riotous metal glory for your earholes. Vocalist Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway shares:

“This song in particular really spurred me on when I was writing lyrics for the album overall. It’s raucous and traditional, but also quirky and discordant and ultimately catchy-as-anything in the context of rampaging noise. Lyrically it was directed at the spiteful art of creating easy targets and fomenting paranoia and revulsion, which is something that I feel has become de rigeur in very recent times. I really let loose on the more sporadic vocals at the end of the song – it’s a real barkfest at that point. Lovely.”

Napalm Death’s forthcoming album, Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism is out September 18th through Century Media/Sony Music Australia. Pre-order here

Napalm Death - Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism

Napalm Death – Throes Of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism tracklisting:

1. Fuck the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.