New Found Glory – Forever + Ever x Infinity (Album Review)

New Found Glory – Forever And Ever x Infinity
Released: 19th June 2020

Line Up:

Jordan Pundik // vocals
Ian Grushka // bass
Chad Gilbert // guitar, vocals
Cyrus Bolooki // drums


Official website

New Found Glory is that band that will forever be synonymous with the early/ mid 2000’s rise of pop punk, a band whose music featured in teen movies and seem to always sing about love and girls. 23 years after they have formed, the band never veers too far from what made them successful in the first place.

However, in saying that, New Found Glory opens Forever And Ever x Infinity unlike any album before. A loud, fuzzy, metal-esque guitar riff introduces ‘Shook By Your Shaved Head’, but as soon as Jordan Pundik’s voice kicks in, it becomes unmistakably New Found Glory, just with a slightly harder edge. And you’ve got to give the lads props for trying something different. ‘Greatest of All Time’ maintains the rollicking pace, whilst still maintaining the essence of NFG; longing lyrics, pop punks overtones, and a sing-along coda.

‘Double Chin For The Win’ is classic New Found Glory, rolling drum beats, pop- punk breakdowns, and somewhat sweet, romantic content. ‘Nothing To Say’ continues the tone, with the title being sang by all members, making it an immediate hook for the listener. Continuing the theme of love and romance, ‘Stay Awhile’, is about wanting another person.

‘Himalaya’ brings back the fuzz and edge from the opening track, including more yelling and classic metal guitar breakdowns. Switching back to punk, ‘Same Side Sitters’ follows as does ‘Like I Never Existed’, both of which incorporate some heavier elements, but is still the New Found Glory one expects.

Slowing things down ‘More And More’ is very much the ballad of the album, it is quite lovely but very saccharine. Kicking it back into gear, but still about all things heart related, ‘Do You Want To Settle Down’ is all about commitment, while ‘The Way You Deserve’ is also about love, but about one’s self worth.

‘Trophy’, despite the lyric “I hope I didn’t objectify you”, is still problematic, as the whole song is about the girl being the prize, which I am pretty sure is the definition of objectifying. While, speaking of prizes, the prize for best song title goes to ‘Scarier Than Jason Vorhees At A Campfire’, although the song is about… you guessed it… love and romance. ‘Birthday Song But Not Really’ is about the feeling of excitement and hope in THE romantic relationship. Finishing on ‘Slipping Away’ the song is quieter and more introspective and explores the end of a relationship. The song itself is a nice break from the rest of the album, which can get a bit repetitive, and shows another layer to New Found Glory.

You like New Found Glory? Then you’ll like this. If you don’t, despite the heavier aspects of the album, it is not going to turn you into a fan. New Found Glory do pop punk songs about longing, lust and love, like no other, and Forever And Ever x Infinity (I mean, just look at the title) is the embodiment on that statement x infinity.


New Found Glory – Forever + Ever x Infinity tracklisting:

1. Shook By Your Shaved Head
2. Greatest Of All Time
3. Double Chin For The Win
4. Nothing To Say
5. Stay Awhile
6. Himalaya
7. Same Side Sitters
8. Like I Never Existed
9. More And More
10. Do You Want To Settle Down
11. The Way You Deserve
12. Trophy
13. Scarier Than Jason Vorhees At A Campfire
14. Birthday Song But Not Really
15. Slipping Away

Rating: 6.5/10
Forever and Ever x Infinity is out this Friday via Hopeless Records. Pre-order here
Review by Carys Hurcom @CarysWos

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. New Found Glory Celebrate 20 Years Of Self-Titled! – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.