PREMIERE: Figures Drop New Single ‘Underpaid Machinery’

Melbourne alternative/metal outfit Figures are announcing their first full-length record, and we’re stoked to bring you the first taste from their upcoming album, Operating in Unsafe Mode. The band’s newest track, ‘Underpaid Machinery’ features blistering riffs and an industrial-proggy soundtrack that fans of the band would be all-too-familiar with. Vocalist Mark Tronson shares that their new track shines a light on underpaid workers and industries:

“I wrote Underpaid Machinery’ in the middle of all the wage theft scandals that were dominating headlines in Australia, specifically among hospitality workers being dangerously overworked and flippantly under-compensated. As I was a worker in that community that had been personally affected by these scandals in the past I had a lot of first hand experience and pent up rage about it. There’s a definite wartime battle ground aesthetic going on and I wanted the vocals in the verses to imitate lobbing grenades, explosions and machine gun fire.”

And if you’re a new fan? 100% get behind these lads if you’re feeling even the slightly bit nostalgic for The Butterfly Effect!

Figures‘ new album Operating in Unsafe Mode is out July 17th. Pre-order here

Figures OIUM Cover Art HIRES1600

Figures – Operating in Unsafe Mode tracklisting:

1. Failure to React
2. Syntax
3. Someone Uninvited
4. Underpaid Machinery
5. Another Injustice
6. Inside You’re Alone
7. Force Feeding
8. Matrix Love
9. The Circle Bends
10. Pedestals

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.