Crossfaith – SPECIES (EP Review)

Crossfaith – SPECIES EP
Released: May 22nd, 2020

Crossfaith Lineup:

Kenta Koie | Vocals
Kazuki Takemura | Guitar
Hiroki ‘Hiro’ Ikegawa | Bass
Terufumi ‘Teru’ Tamano | Keyboard
Tetsuya Amano | Drums

Crossfaith online:


After seeing their amazing live show when they supported The Amity Affliction last year (review here) I was keen to see what Japanese hardcore legends Crossfaith would do next. While not a full-length album, their new EP SPECIES is five tracks that delivers the bands power in a short and sweet manner that leaves you wanting more.

The opening track ‘Digital Parasite’ shoots Crossfaith’s combination of EDM, metal and hardcore right out of the gate, continuing its aggression throughout the EP. ‘Endorphin’ holds a killer main riff, before exploding into a melodic hook for the chorus, with a wall of synth that takes the song to another level.

‘Truth Of Insanity’ brings the metal riffs, before delivering a big chorus that’s mosh-pit ready (for whenever that thing makes a return.) For the song ‘None Of Your BusinessCrossfaith enlist the help of Osaka-based rapper Jin Dogg to put forward probably the most anger-dripped part of the whole release.

With the final track ‘Your Song’ the whole thing is over just as quick as it began. Crossfaith continue to be a dominant outfit among Japan’s heavy music scene. It will be interesting to see what kind of live show for SPECIES they bring back to Australia, because their last outing made them an unmissable band in my book.

eye, security, human, unique, seeing, iris, anatomy, biology

Crossfaith – SPECIES tracklisting

1. Digital Parasite
2. Endorphin
3. Truth Of Insanity
4. None Of Your Business (feat. Jin Dogg)
5. Your Song

Rating: 8/10
Species is out this Friday via UNFD. Pre-Order here
Review By – Simon Valentine (@SimonValentine1)

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Kenta Koie – Crossfaith ‘Nothing To Do But Make Music’ – Wall Of Sound
  2. Crossfaith Drop ‘None of Your Business’ Video – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.