Mark Heylmun – Suicide Silence (Audio Interview)

Suicide Silence – Metal from California, born and then raised by many. From strong debut album The Cleansing (2007) all the way through to 2020, the band have raised hell – the good kind. After frontman Hernan “Eddie” Hermida proved he could do the job with 2014’s You Can’t Stop Me, it was all guns blazing. At least for a while (Context is king, which you’ll find in the below interview).

I was lucky enough to sit down with the one, the only Mark Helymun of Suicide Silence – for the second time in four years. Their latest record Become The Hunter is out on the 14th February – or Valentine’s Day (our review here). Sharing plenty of love, anecdotes and all-too-real banter, we chatted about how we both identify with album track ‘Love Me To Death’, metal connoisseur Sam Dunn, and why Eddie has to have an incredibly thick skin…

Interview by Genevieve Gao


Become The Hunter is out February 14 via Nuclear Blast. Pre-Order here

suicide silence - become the hunter

Suicide Silence – Become The Hunter tracklisting

1. Meltdown
2. Two Steps
3. Feel Alive
4. Love Me To Death
5. In Hiding
6. Death’s Anxiety
7. Skin Tight
8. The Scythe
9. Serene Obscene
10. Disaster Valley
11. Become The Hunter

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Genevieve Gao (38 Articles)
Music Journalist

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Suicide Silence’s Mark Heylmun On Vocalist Eddie Hermida’s Critics: “It’s So Hard For Him…He Gets So Much Shit” – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.