August Burns Red Announce Forthcoming Album “Guardians” + Drop New Song ‘Defender’

The twice-GRAMMY nominated band August Burns Red have come back swinging with the first single from their newly announced album Guardians and if this is a taste of what’s to come, surely they can add an additional nomination to their GRAMMYs total!?

The song in question is ‘Defender‘ which is full of that awesome ABR goodness we know and love, heavy with plenty of screams and an anthemic chorus section that’ll have everyone screaming along at future live shows.

On the new song, rhythm guitarist Brett Rambler says:

The song ‘Defender’ is about having that person who can come in and take some punches for you, and be in your corner during hard times… I am quite the comic book fan and I thought the lyrics could easily turn into an awesome animated short story — kind of like if the pages of a comic were to come to life. Luckily, everyone else agreed and we have this sick video to go along with the song.”

The comic book-themed music video is great and if you’re a fan of what Coheed and Cambria have done in the past, this’ll be up your alley! You’ll be able to get your hands on the new album on April 3rd via Fearless Records. Until then, suss out the new single below!

Pre-Order Guardians here


August Burns Red – Guardians tracklisting

1. The Narrative
2. Bones
3. Paramount
4. Defender
5. Lighthouse
6. Dismembered Memory
7. Ties That Bind
8. Bloodletter
9. Extinct by Instinct
10. Empty Heaven
11. Three Fountains

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3542 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!