IT’S HERE! A Fresh Album Announcement And New Track From Slowly Slowly

Everyone, it’s a great day! Melbour- Australia’s rock favourites Slowly Slowly are kicking off 2020 with the announcement of their third album Race Car Blues and the album’s title track and music video. Thank you, universe.

Race Car Blues is the follow up to their critically-acclaimed 2018 album St Leonards which, if I can say, has some classics in the making. And after hearing the band’s severely popular singles so far, Friday February 28 cannot come fast enough.

Describing the soaring album closer ‘Race Car Blues’ in some more depth, frontman Ben Stewart explains that the song was something of a ‘hard chat’ with himself. The track and music video show Stewart struggling with the incongruence between where he was as a person and artist and where he wanted to be. And though the track and record open up a new space for his pain and struggle to breathe, Race Car Blues ultimately declares a new era of triumph. Of the album, Stewart says:

“For me, Race Car Blues (album) feels like not being a victim anymore, in any sense of it, and really taking responsibility,” he says. “You realise as you get to your late 20s, no one’s going to fix you, no one gives a fuck, the world keeps turning and everyone’s on their own trajectories. If you’re not looking out for yourself, you’ll just get left behind or fall by the wayside, you’ll wake up and all of those dreams you had don’t get actualised.

“For me, it was about knuckling down and asking myself, “what’s important to me?”. If being a good, honest songwriter was important to me, I’m obviously going to be a lot better at that if I’m a happier person in myself, and confident. It was about creating an environment where I could do that.”

It’s going to be a whole new era of Slowly Slowly with this album, and we cannot wait. Race Car Blues is out on Friday February 28 via UNFD, make sure to pre-order your vinyl here.


Slowly Slowly – Race Car Blues tracklisting

1. Creature Of Habit
2. 19
3. Safety Switch (ft. Bec Stevens)
4. You Are Bigger Than This Town
5. Michael Angelo
6. Soil
7. Suicidal Evangelist
8. Jellyfish
9. How It Feels
10. Superpowers
11. Creature of Habit Pt. 2
12. Race Car Blues

About Ebony Story (229 Articles)
Wall of Sound Music Journo & Podcast Host // Loving the heavy heavy

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Slowly Slowly Announce ‘Race Car Blues’ Tour! – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.