Dream State Drop New Video For Twenty Letters!

UK’s Dream State are gearing up to release their UNFD debut release this Friday and to get you even more pumped for their new album, Primrose Path, CJ and the boys have released a music video for their new single ‘Twenty Letters’. Primrose Path is their hotly anticipated release, for which our own reviewer even gave it a 10/10 rating (read her review here).

The lyrical content behind ‘Twenty Letters’ dives into vocalist CJ Gilpin‘s emotions when she was battling substance abuse and served as a coping mechanism for her:

“Society’s standardised ways of living were crippling; I was constantly carrying the pain of others around me and I started to face the shadow aspects to my own personality and felt trapped and tormented by my own mind. I sat in my room in the dark and I just cried and broke down. I felt so alone and all my pain rose to the surface and I had to face it all head on, rather than run from it like I always had by self-medicating.”

“The urge to write had overcome me and I felt that what I would write was either going to say goodbye or ease some pain in some way. I flooded pages with all the things that were hurting me and my lack of understanding of it all, and shortly after I purged my pain, hope would follow and conquer it…. I could still feel the weight on my chest and
stomach and I just suddenly had enough of myself. I could not continue living this way. I’m so grateful for that night because I was able to go through this breakdown alone and without drink or drugs. I stared at my monster in the mirror I made friends with it, I understood it. I felt completely undone by everything and nothing could hurt me again… I ended the night holding those letters of mine close and laid there grateful and ready for whatever happens next.”

The video itself is visually pleasing to the eye, while the track itself is dark and explosive, proving to be a future hit for the Welsh four-piece. Jam it below!

dream state - primrose path

Dream State – Primrose Path tracklisting:

1. Made Up Smile
2. Are You Ready To Live
3. Hand In Hand
4. Open Windows
5. Twenty Letters
6. Spitting Lies
7. Out Of The Blue
8. Chapters
9. Primrose
10. I Feel It Too

Primrose Path is out this Friday. Pre-order here!


Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1055 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.