Void Of Vision – Hyperdaze (Album Review)

Void Of Vision – Hyperdaze
Released: September 13th, 2019


Jack Bergin – Vocals
James McKendrick – Guitar/Vocals
Mitch Fairlie – Guitar
George Murphy – Drums



A band who has steadily gained traction within Australia’s heavy music scene through dedication and hard work is none other than Melbourne’s very own Void Of Vision. Their latest offering Hyperdaze is so highly anticipated by fans around the world which comes as no surprise as they manage to continually breath new life into an already massive genre.

The album kicks off with ‘Overture‘ which is a steady introductory song, with no vocals and lasting forty-two seconds, the instrumental song is a suitable song to begin the album. ‘Year Of The Rat’ pushes things into top gear with hard-hitting guitar riffs and double kicks from the start. The way that vocalists Jack Bergin and James McKendrick continually switch from Jack’s screams to James’ clean vocals is world-class and makes the song flow incredibly and compliments the structure of the song amazingly. Finishing off the song with a mosh worthy breakdown.

Babylon’ keeps the pace going with a strong drum presence taking the lead. Lyrically speaking Jack screams about the delusion of believing in a god, with darker styled lyrics than what this four-piece usually produce such as “we are all miserable, waiting to feel the burn”. The song concludes with yet another hard-hitting breakdown which makes sitting still near impossible. ‘If Only’ starts with an ever so catchy guitar riff which compliments the drums exceptionally well. This piece is an excellent example of how much VoV has matured over the years as the songs structure, and individual timing of instruments is beyond the bands years. Vocalist Jack and James make switching their roles throughout the song seem easy and sounds as if it what they do is effortless. With a guitar solo thrown in the middle of the song, which I cannot seem to fault in any way, I’m not afraid to call this song a masterpiece. The song maintains the same tempo from start to finish, with no breakdown.

Slave To The Name’ starts with a slow and melodic guitar riff before exploding into a substantial outburst of instrumentals which pushes the song into a fast-paced tempo. Frontman Jack Bergin shows off his range in this one while keeping up with the speed of the instrumentals. The way that each instrument compliments each other is incredible and creates a smooth listening experience. With a fitting together breakdown towards the end before finishing off with clean vocalist James closes out the song with his impressive higher-pitched vocals. ‘Adrenaline’ is the only song on the album which seems out of place. With no instrumentals or vocals, the minimal/EDM song creates an interlude for the heavy music fans. ‘Hole In Me’ starts with a catchy guitar riff before the drums and vocals join in. The tempo and rhythm stay the same throughout the majority of the song with an abundance of double kicks from drummer, George Murphy and concludes with a suitable fitting breakdown. ‘Kerosene Dream’ starts with Jack’s energetic vocals on top of intricate guitar riffs and drumming. Thrown into the middle of the song is a drum solo, which works incredibly well. This is another song where the one tempo is constant throughout the entire song, but that doesn’t mean this song isn’t by any means bad, the timing of each instrumental is on point and executed professionally.

‘Decay’ starts with a simple yet superb guitar riff, with almost muffled vocals singing over the top before vocalist Jack returns to his usual hard-hitting screams. The structure of this song is built up around the drums, with the guitars catchy riffs carrying on throughout the piece. A huge breakdown is thrown in at the end of the song, and it is put together exceptionally well. ‘Splinter’ kicks off with an incredibly fast-paced drum beat and Jack’s screams over the tops. This is arguably the heaviest and fastest song on the album, with plenty of double kicks and mind-blowingly fast guitar riffs, Vocalist Jack manages to keep up with the songs fast tempo with ease. With a heavy breakdown towards the end, this song is not to be overlooked by any heavy music fan.

The album’s last song and title track ‘Hyperdaze’ keeps the fast-paced tempo going and ends the album off on a heavy note. Each instrument does a fantastic job at complementing one another as they execute the timing to a tee. The song has a strong structure with a hard-hitting breakdown at the end.

I’m not afraid to say that this is Void Of Vision‘s strongest release yet. With an already impressive back catalogue of music, there seems to be nothing holding this band back.


Void of Vision – Hyperdaze tracklisting

  1. Overture
  2. Year Of The Rat
  3. Babylon
  4. If Only
  5. Slave To The Name
  6. Adrenaline
  7. Hole In Me
  8. Kerosene Dream
  9. Decay
  10. Splinter
  11. Hyperdaze

Rating: 9/10
Hyperdaze is out Friday, September 13th via UNFD. Pre-Order here
Review by Adam Rice @adamrice1994 

VOV 2019 hi res

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


5 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Void Of Vision Unveil ‘If Only’ Single Ahead Of Hyperdaze Release – Wall Of Sound
  2. Rolling Coverage: UNIFY 2020 Confirms, Clues, Predictions and more… – Wall Of Sound
  3. Void Of Vision Announce 2020 Hyperdaze Australian Tour – Wall Of Sound
  4. See How Void Of Vision’s Jack Bergin Handled Isolation In ‘Decay’ Music Video – Wall Of Sound
  5. Void Of Vision Drop Reimagined ‘Year Of The Rat’ feat. Thornhill’s Jacob Charlton – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.