caution:thieves Unveil The Blueprint For Moving Forward EP + Debut New Song ‘Somewhere Bright’

Australian bands are on fucking fire right now and caution:thieves are throwing their hands up to contribute to the heavy music scene with their newly announced EP The Blueprint For Moving Forward which is set for release on July 26th.

On the big news, vocalist Nicholas Simonsen revealed:

We’ve been working on these songs for a long time now. ‘Somewhere Bright’ was actually written just after we released ‘Songs From The Great Divide’. The rest of the songs slowly started to come together and take form from there and it just started to all make sense. Rather than releasing a heap of singles along the way, we really wanted to present ‘The Blueprint’ as a body of work that shows everything we’re capable of. Life is full of these weird ups and downs and caution:thieves has always been an outlet for me to talk about those”

The Melbourne metal act also dropped their new single ‘Somewhere Bright‘ which harks back at early Killswitch Engage, Misery Signals, Poison The Well and Alexisonfire eras, whilst delivering a raw (yet clean) sound that you can’t help but thrash about to.

Simonsen discussed the new track, telling Wall of Sound:

‘Somewhere Bright’ was the first song written for the record. I was in quite a bad way when I wrote it but rather than spiralling back into crippling depression again, I think I wanted to focus on knowing that things could get better. We can make mistakes and we can go through bad times, but that doesn’t mean that there isn’t a light at the end of the tunnel. Sometimes all it takes is owning your shit, putting your head down and focussing on being better, doing better.

We wouldn’t agree more…

If you or anyone you know needs help with their own mental well-being call Lifeline on 13 11 14 or Beyond Blue on 1300 22 4636 or find your closest Suicide Prevention/Crisis Support Organisation on Google…

Like what you hear? Pre-order the EP right here


caution:thieves – The Blueprint For Moving Forward EP tracklisting

1. The New Colossus
2. Standing Room
3. Bitter Living
4. Daggers For Teeth
5. Somewhere Bright
6. The Blueprint

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3360 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower... Definitely NOT a Hipster!