Woes – Awful Truth (Album Review)

Woes – Awful Truth
Released: June 28, 2019


DJ // vocals
Sean Duddy // bass & vocals
Luke Bovill // guitar
Ryan Neish // drums



2019 has been kinda slow in the pop/punk arena, which is a little sad, but hopefully, that’s all about to change. UNFD’s latest signing, Woes, release their debut album Awful Truth this week, and it’s surely going to turn heads. These young Scottish lads have already toured with the likes of Millencolin and State Champs, and Awful Truth is going to catapult Woes onto new heights of success.


Intro track ‘Boy’ provides us with a teaser of Woes’ fresh sound, a synth-pop intro leading into a classic pop/punk riff. ‘Fake Friends’ is everything we love about a pop/punk song – catchy hooks, riffs, gang vocals and a big singalong chorus. ‘Fancy’ continues the catchy as fuck vibes, all while increasing the fun with the lighthearted, tongue-in-cheek lyrical tone.

‘Money Shoe’ is by far the biggest single Woes have released so far, and they’ve incorporated elements of pop, rnb and pop/punk into a massive song of catchy relatable lyrics, loud riffs and massive choruses. Upon first hearing this track, it kinda reminded me of a less heavy version of Issues. This track has a beat that’s so contagious it’s hard to get out of your head, so I’m giving this one song of the year potential.

Title track ‘Awful Truth’ channels a classic, fun, early 2000s vibe, while ‘Suburbs’ is one of the catchiest songs I’ve heard in the scene in a long time. Woes is going to bring some epic crowd singalongs at their shows with this soaring chorus, as well as with summertime anthem ‘Mess’ which sees DJ and the boys clean up nicely. ‘Cross’ feels like the reflective, turning point of Awful Truth, seeing Woes experimenting with some alternative poppier beats. ‘Gone Forever’ returns with the mainstream pop/punk vibes here, and with that soaring heavy guitar chorus, makes this one almost as big a hit as ‘Money Shoe’Woes seem to be all about continuously experimenting outside the box in their music, and ‘Ugly’ might feel like the more serious song on this record, but it’s also proof that they are undeniably passionate about their art.

Awful Truth is the pop/punk album we’ve all been waiting for this year. Woes delivers some of the catchiest anthems we’ve seen in fine form, and it’s pretty damn obvious that we haven’t seen the last of these guys. Overall, the entire tone of Awful Truth is uplifting attitudes towards life struggles, tightened together with the band’s ability to nail songs that’ll appeal to just about anyone who’s a fan of pop/punk, old and new.


Woes – Awful Truth tracklisting:

  1. Boys
  2. Fake Friends
  3. Fancy
  4. Money Shoe
  5. Awful Truth
  6. Suburbs
  7. Mess
  8. Cross
  9. Gone Forever
  10. Ugly

Rating: 9/10
Awful Truth is out this Friday. Pre-order here!
Review by Tamara May (@citylightsTAM)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. DJ – Woes ‘The Awful Truth’ – Wall Of Sound
  2. Rolling Coverage: UNIFY 2020 Confirms, Clues, Predictions and more… – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.