ATLVS – Memoir (EP Review)

ATLVS – Memoir
Released: June 14th 2019


Jesse Buckingham // vocals
Steve Ljiljak // guitar
Nick Fitzgerald // guitar
Nick Clavarino // drums
Matthew Borthwick // bass/clean vocals



Straight off the back of playing shows with Ocean Sleeper last November, Victorian metalcore boys ATLVS went straight into the studio with Ocean Sleeper’s very own Ionei Heckenberg to record their debut EP. Memoir is a reflection of various ideas surrounding memory and truth, accompanied by some intense heavy-hitting instrumentals with assistance from a few surprise guests.

Memoir launches straight into the heavy-hitting track that is ‘Epiphany’. Choir-sounding gang vocals are layered throughout this song, on top of a sick metal riff driving the beat of the whole song. ‘Insinuate’ throws us a powerful emotional chorus, backed by a riff that feels very nu-metal with supporting guest vocals from Heckenberg, who complements this song quite fucking nicely.

Now I’ve never come across an EP with an interlude before, and ‘YVTH’ is exactly that. Low-sounding vocals towards the end here take us straight into ‘LOVE’, a hard-hitting tune featuring melodic vocals that soar throughout the chorus, backed by the ATLVS’ hardcore metal sound that’s gotten the boys some airplay not just in Australia, but in the US and UK too.

‘Sick’ completes Memoir on a high note with a soaring melodic metal chorus, backed by an impressive guitar solo. However, ‘Mercury’ sounds more like the epicentre of Memoir, with its hard-hitting, experimental metal sound. Featuring guest vocals from Jamie Mclees (from Lotus Eater), this song sounds pretty fucking insane and feels like it was made to be heard best in a live setting. 

ATLVS prove they’re a force to be reckoned with in the scene here, with their intense heavy breakdowns guaranteed to make even the most hardcore metal fan throw their hands up. Memoir is a solid debut that needs to be heard and, if they’re playing at a venue near you soon, get down to it because these guys will surely impress.


ATLVS – Memoir tracklisting:

  1. Epiphany
  2. Insinuate (featuring Ionei Heckenberg)
  3. YVTH
  4. LOVE
  5. Mercury (featuring Jamie Mclees)
  6. Sick

Rating: 8/10
Memoir is out now. Purchase here!
Review by Tamara May (@citylightsTAM)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. ATLVS Frontman Jesse Buckingham Has Announced His Departure – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.