We Burn Bridges – Head Prison (EP Review)

We Burn Bridges – Head Prison
Released: 17th May, 2019


Jack Ryan // Vocals
Ben Masters // Guitar/Vocals
Alisdair Mahoney // Guitar
Manolis Kamitsis // Bass
Luke Kohler // Drums



Post-hardcore Darwin boys We Burn Bridges are well on their way to making a name for themselves with their debut EP release, Head Prison. These guys might be the hottest thing to come out of Australia’s Top End this year, and what they’ve delivered on this 5-track release is something that needs to be heard to believe.

First single ‘Self Drought’ features explosive metal riffs and breakdowns while also bringing to light the effects of addiction. The guys are using their platform to shed some light on some all too important issues, mainly surrounding mental health, hence the concept of “Head Prison” (see our interview HERE with the boys for more on what they had to say!).


‘Coward’ sees We Burn Bridges blend their melodic metal riffs with some nu-metal influence for a unique spin on things, and it kinda works. That breakdown in the bridge will definitely have a mosh pit going, and I find what really works on this track so well is the way that screamer Jack Ryan’s and vocalist Ben Masters’ parts tie in together. On the other hand, politically-driven heavy hitter ‘One Punch’ is a fast-paced anthem, that dives into alcohol-related violence. The breakdowns here are possibly the heaviest we’ve heard from the band, and it packs a mean punch (excuse the pun!)

The final two tracks here are absolute standouts. Second single ‘Silhouette’ is a major highlight, with the explosive chorus hinting at some serious nu-metal vibes which I’m definitely digging from the boys. Title track ‘Head Prison’ sums up the entire vibe of the EP with huge metal breakdowns and vocalists Jack and Ben teaming up here for one last showdown.

Head Prison is a decent collection of heavy hitting anthems that hits you right in the feels with their meaningful lyrics. We Burn Bridges sure have delivered the goods on this short but hard and fast 5-track EP to get into your ears. These guys are only just getting started, but let’s hope they hit us with more tunes!

head prison

We Burn Bridges – Head Prison tracklisting:

  1. Self Drought
  2. Coward
  3. One Punch
  4. Silhouette
  5. Head Prison

Rating: 8/10
Head Prison is out tomorrow. Pre-Order here!
Review by Tamara May (@citylightsTAM)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.