Sabaton release ‘Fields Of Verdun’, the first single from forthcoming album The Great War

They released their standalone singleBismarck‘ a few weeks back and now Sabaton are back in the game with the first single from their forthcoming ninth studio album The Great War getting its debut, along with their new music video.

Fields Of Verdun’ is the first release and this one, according to bassist Pär Sundström is the best representation for what fans can expect on the album:

The story of the battle of Verdun is also very representative for the album since it has all elements that identifies with ‘The Great War’. Verdun is so much WW1 that we decided to hold the first album presentation in this city, inviting journalists from around the world to not just hear the album, but also understand the story behind it.

We choose ‘Fields of Verdun’ to be the first single since we felt it represent the album perfect, a classic SABATON metal song which we cannot wait to include in the future setlists.

Fun Fact: The band started recording The Great War exactly 100 years after the end of the First World War (11/11/1918) and took them roughly about 3 months to complete. The end result can be heard on July 19th, 2019 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Pre-Order The Great War right here

sabaton the great war

Sabaton – The Great War tracklisting

1. The Future Of Warfare
2. Seven Pillars Of Wisdom
3. 82nd All The Way
4. The Attack Of The Dead Men
5. Devil Dogs
6. The Red Baron
7. Great War
8. A Ghost In The Trenches
9. Fields Of Verdun
10. The End Of The War To End All Wars
11. In Flanders Fields

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3582 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!