Devin Townsend’s new album Empath finally scored a release date

Fans have been eagerly anticipating the arrival of Canadian metal icon Devin Townsend‘s new album and if you missed the news over the weekend (like we did, soz) his new album, titled Empath, will finally see the light of day on March 29th via Sony/Inside Out Music.

In a lengthy video, Devin revealed the news, including a glimpse of what fans can expect in he lead up to release, stating:

 “Hello everybody, this is Devin Townsend and I would like to formally announce that after almost a year and a half of working, I have finished ‘EMPATH’. Now this record has taken me down a lot of very interesting psychological and technical avenues and the process was documented from the very get-go by a series of documentary videos that I have done, that outline everything from the gestation of the idea to the actualisation of it, through all the existential ups and downs that went on. As such this record is different to any record that I have released thus far, and trying to get people on board for what it is versus what it isn’t, I think needs to be dealt with in a different way. Stay tuned for the making of ‘EMPATH’ – the video series.

Joining Devin on the album will be a plethora of guests including Frank Zappa alumni Mike Keneally as music director, as well as Morgan Ågren (Mats And Morgan, Frank Zappa, Fredrik Thordendal), Anup Sastry (Monuments, Periphery), Samus Paulicelli (Decrepit Birth, Abigail Williams), Nathan NavarroElliot DesagnesSteve VaiChad KroegerAnneke Van GiersbergenChé Aimee DorvalRyan Dhale and the Elektra Women’s Choir.

Pre-Orders are taking place right here. Get keen.

devin townsend - empath

Devin Townsend – Empath tracklisting

1. Castaway
2. Genesis
3. Spirits Will Collide
4. Evermore
5. Sprite
6. Hear Me
7. Why
8. Borderlands
9. Requiem
10. Singularity Part 1 – Adrift
11. Singularity Part 2 – I Am I
12. Singularity Part 3 – There Be Monsters
13. Singularity Part 4 – Curious Gods
14. Singularity Part 5 – Silicon Scientists
15. Singularity Part 6 – Here Comes The Sun

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3695 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Devin Townsend releases first single from forthcoming album ‘Empath’ – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.