Hellions FINALLY announce new album Rue and release brand new single ‘Smile’

Its been seven months since Hellions debuted ‘X (Mwah)‘ the first song from their forthcoming album at UNIFY and from there they dropped the follow up ‘Furrow‘, still with no signs of an album, but all that changed overnight when the boys released their third single ‘Smile‘ and finally announced their new album Rue.


Pre-Orders are opening today here for the new release which hits shelves and online on October 19th via UNFD and if you’ve been following the boys’ development and progression, you’ll know they’ve put their all into this one which follows up from their 2016, ARIA Nominated banger Opera Oblivia. When we caught up with the boys backstage at UNIFY 2018 on our Wall of Sound: Up Against The Wall podcast, they told us the album was done and they were just caught in that stage where they’re waiting for it to be released. They also shed some light on what the theme of the album will be like with Dre Faivre and Anthony ‘Aff’ Caruso revealing:

“You could put it as a concept album. We’ve almost picked up where we left off.”

In a digital age where we’re constantly chasing entertainment, validation and speaking out about matters without proper facts, humanity is changing day by day and that seems to be the running concept with this new release according to ‘Aff’ and Matt Gravolin who add:

 “The world as we know it wants to be entertained interminably, and now our entertainment often comes at the expense of our compassion. We’ve all found ourselves speaking in blue, snide language about trivial matters that aren’t of any real consequence to us, asserting invalid opinions for the sake of having our voices heard.

“Cheap stimulation is addictive and judgemental thinking can take over involuntarily when so much of our mental space is surrendered to it. We seem to be stuck here despite knowing that this thinking and behaviour isn’t conducive to any lasting happiness.”

The time is now to “check yourself, before you wreck yourself” in a way and finally start thrashing the new single below, get keen for yet another Australian band making us think about ourselves and continuing to kill it with a new album in 2018.

Hellions Rue

Hellions – Rue tracklisting

1.  (Blueberry)
2. Odyssey
3. X (Mwah)
4. Smile
5. Furrow
6. Cocoon
7. Rue
8. (Theatre Of)
9. The Lotus
10. Get Up!
11. Harsh Light
12. 26

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3539 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Smile, Hellions; Review – Crowd Control

Comments are closed.