Trophy Eyes – The American Dream (Album Review)

Trophy Eyes – The American Dream
Released: August 3rd, 2018

Trophy Eyes are:

John Floreani – Vocals
Jeremy Winchester – Bass // Vocals
Andrew Hallett – Lead Guitar
Kevin Cross – Rhythm Guitar
Blake Caruso – Drums



Newcastle’s finest exports Trophy Eyes have released they’re highly anticipated third album, following the massive success of their last sophomore record. Chemical Miracle was arguably the most influential album of its genre released in 2016 and it was hard to find a Top 10 list that didn’t include it in there somewhere, and now, pretty much every other pop punk kid has a palm tree with a noose tattooed on their person. So how do you follow that up? How do you follow up the Black Parade of your career? … with a Danger Days of course.


The American Dream isn’t trying to be Chemical Miracle again. It’s very much its own thing, with an arguably more hopeful upbeat tone. It stands on its own two feet without much trouble and actually showcases frontman John Floreani‘s clean vocals in a whole new light. Transitioning to slightly more pop than punk, the boys do really well in showing their musical growth. The album is absolutely filled with lyrical genius and no song really feels like filler or like it doesn’t fit. As a result, you’re left with a really solid piece of work. Do I think it will be as genre defining as Chemical Miracle? Probably not, but that should in no way discredit it from being a really solid album.

The album starts off with bright poppy guitars as ‘Autumn’ introduces us to a few concepts that become a constant in this album; Floreani‘s gorgeously deep clean vocals, hooks that aren’t leaving your head for the next few months and gang vocals… so many gang vocals… literally, every other song has them. They kind of get away with it though, because who doesn’t love a good gang section, it’s just incredibly indulgent. ‘Something Bigger Than This’ is the best example of this for sure.


‘Friday Forever’ is a personal favourite in terms of lyricism; the subject matter of nostalgia for a reckless youth is definitely not an unexplored topic for any pop band, but the recurring “Is this what the clouds feel like?” is one of those lines that is just going to stick with people and really separates Trophy Eyes from your average joe. Following this up is ‘More Like You’ which is probably the most Chemical Miracle song on the album; Floreani finally utilises the yells that have become so iconic in tone. The gang vocals also feature prominently as is expected at this point.  

The band beautifully slows it down twice in this record, ‘A Cotton Candy Sky’ and ‘Tip Toe’ and they’re some of the most beautiful pieces they’ve written, ‘Tip Toe‘ being a personal highlight. It truly shows the band’s range and staying power as there is something for everyone.


The rest of the album follows on in this fashion; consistent in its quality, it’s really hard not to enjoy yourself listening to this record. A lot of people are incredibly invested in this band and expectations are high as all hell. That being said I think they well and truly met expectations and every kind of fan will be really stoked on this release. While transitioning to a more pop sound, they’ve not completely abandoned their roots, which is something a lot of bands can learn from.

Personally, I’m beyond excited to see how this album translates live.

TE TAD Cover FINAL 1080x1080 300dpi

Trophy Eyes — The American Dream tracklist

1. Autumn
2. Something Bigger Than This
3. Friday Forever
4. More Like You
5. A Cotton Candy Sky
6. You Can Count On Me
7. Broken
8. Tip Toe
9. Lavender Bay
10. Miming In The Choir
11. A Symphony Of Crickets
12. I Can Feel It Calling

Rating: 8/10
The American Dream is out Friday August 3rd via UNFD. Pre-Order here
Review Bree Vane @Briebrebree

trophy eyes band press 2018

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Trophy Eyes’ new single ‘Friday Forever’ boasts larger, stadium rock feels – Wall Of Sound
  2. The number of Exclusive Reunions at UNIFY 2019 have been revealed… – Wall Of Sound
  3. Trophy Eyes – Gig Review & Photo Gallery October 12th @ Enmore Theatre, Sydney NSW – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.