So, Tom Morello has a solo album coming out and the guests are really, really, really diverse…

Literal Guitar Hero Tom Morello is a man that knows no failure. Everything he’s been a part of, whether it be Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave or Prophets of Rage have all been an international success and his Nightwatchman stuff can’t be faulted. Now, he’s back with a brand new solo album on the way called The Atlas Underground and he’s teaming up with a whole range of special guests on it from so many different walks of life and musical genres.

Featuring the likes of Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons), Tim McIlrath (Rise Against) and Steve Aoki, Big Boi (Outkast), Portugal. The Man, RZA and even Knife Party (aka Rob Swire and Gareth McGrillen) score a guest slot in what Tom hopes will create a new genre of music.

On the album’s diverse range and theme of collaborators Morello says:

“The riffs and the beats led the way, but the extraordinary talents of the collaborators set my creativity into uncharted territory. I’ve been devoted both musically and as an activist to fighting injustice at every turn. Amid this heightened sense of impending doom, it’s now time to rally the troops in a last-ditch effort to save the planet, and our artistic souls. By challenging the boundaries of what music is and has sounded like before, you can open peoples’ eyes to changing the status quo in society.”

The Atlas Underground gets its release on October 12th via Sony Music Australia and Pre-Orders are open right here. Hear a sample of the album with the teaser below.

tom morello - the atlas underground

Tom Morello – The Atlas Underground tracklisting

1. Battle Sirens – Tom Morello ft. Knife Party
2. Rabbit’s Revenge – Tom Morello ft. Bassnectar, Big Boi, and Killer Mike
3. Every Step That I Take – Tom Morello ft. Portugal. The Man and Whethan
4. We Don’t Need You – Tom Morello ft. Vic Mensa
5. Find Another Way – Tom Morello ft. Marcus Mumford
6. How Long – Tom Morello ft. Steve Aoki and Tim McIlrath (Rise Against)
7. Lucky One – Tom Morello ft. K.Flay
8. One Nation – Tom Morello ft. Pretty Lights
9. Vigilante Nocturno – Tom Morello ft. Carl Restivo
10. Where It’s At Ain’t What It Is – Tom Morello ft. Gary Clark Jr. and Nico Stadi
11. Roadrunner – Tom Morello ft. Leikeli47
12. Lead Poisoning – Tom Morello ft. GZA, RZA, and Herobust

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3804 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!